What is the ideal setup/build(?) for a rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PJ-Graphix, Jul 25, 2012.

1. PJ-Graphix macrumors newbie

• 2.6GHz vs 2.7GHZ... i dont see too much of a difference to justify $250
    • 8GB vs 16GB... a no brainer as upgrading is impossible after, id go with the 16G
    • 512GB Flash Storage vs 768GB Flash Storage.... idk if its worth the $500. how important is the flash storage? is it necessary. will i regret not opting for it? are there alternatives.
    • USB SuperDrive... at this point i am highly considering it as i have software that require an optical drive to be installed to the computer....
    • ThunderBolt Display... while it would be nice, that pricetag is killing me. yes, i am a graphic artist and animator and a big screen would be nice, however i think i can do fine without a big screen until i upgrade to the 2012/13 imac... if it ever comes out.... :/
    • AppleCare... another given... i have horrible luck with machines... i cant afford to have something so expensive break on me...

So what is everybody's preference when it comes to how to order these? what is necessary and what is not? i will be using it for graphic design, 2d flash animations and hopefully creating flash games with actionscript 3.0, and hope to get into creating game apps for ipod/ipad/iphone.

2. beamer8912 macrumors 65816

You can buy an external optical drive for $20 off of amazon or newegg. The superdrive is not worth $80.

3. arashb macrumors 6502

Geekbench shows:
    2.6 GHz at 11660
    2.7 GHz at 12225

And 2.3 at 10900 if you were interested.

See what your current setup ranks at and go from there.

Flash memory is a type of storage. It's like SSD but smaller, it is upgradeable but not as common as SSDs. So look on your computer see how much space you're taking and see if that's enough for a laptop. I'm on a 128 GB SSD always wishing I had more space :p.