what is the max ram you can put on

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ROGERWILCO357, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. ROGERWILCO357 macrumors 6502

    ROGERWILCO357

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I have A 13"MBP 2.53 duo core and it came with 4 gig ram can it be upgraded to 8? If so what type?
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Yes. 8GB is the max with 1067MHz DDR3 204-pin memory.
     
  3. ROGERWILCO357 thread starter macrumors 6502

    ROGERWILCO357

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    great

    so I can buy the crucial ddr3 ram two 4gig sticks and replace my two 2gig sticks man that rocks just took out the 250gig and replaced it with the 500gig and when that fills up going to try the terabyte. Also what is your take on the Imac's really like the 27inch man it looks awesome.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Yep, you just take the original out and put the new in. I have crucial in mine, and have never had an issue.

    The iMac is also pretty sweet. My dad has a 27" and it is a pretty sweet machine, beautiful screen, quiet, plenty of power. I'll probably buy one when I can afford it, or have a need for it.
     
  5. ThirtyThr33 macrumors 6502

    ThirtyThr33

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    #5
    K, this is a nooby question so please forgive me in advance. But what does ram actually do? I kinda get the basics and I've been told its sort of "the amount of space your computer has to do work" if that makes sense, but does it actually speed up your computer or what?
     
  6. Chiuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    NorCal, Bay Area
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    The more ram you have, the more stuff you can run without lagging. Also known as multitasking. I highly doubt you need more than 4GB unless you do Photoshop or video editing HD
     
  7. ThirtyThr33 macrumors 6502

    ThirtyThr33

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    #7
    I do photoshop, but I'll probably just get some 4gb sticks off newegg and install em myself
     

Share This Page