what is the Max Ram you have in your MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by minis2003, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. minis2003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #1
    :eek:right now i have 3gb of ram in my MacBook 2.16gHz, but after reading the specs on the chipset i was wondering if anyone has tried to put 4gb of ram in their MacBook yet? :eek:
     
  2. MacMan33 macrumors regular

    MacMan33

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I am running 4gig, dual 2gig chipsets, runs like a champ had the 3gigs but sold the 1 gig to my old man and bought another 2giger...runs fast, but sometimes alittle hotter thank i would like..
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
  4. minis2003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #4
    only 3.3gb is used by 10.4? do you think this would be corrected in 10.5 when it comes in Oct?:confused:

    did you see a differance in proformance from 3gb to 4gb? how much hotter did it get when you installed 4gb?
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Please, read the Guide link posted.

    No, 10.5 will not make any difference, It is a hardware limitation.
     
  6. adauge macrumors regular

    adauge

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #6
    For people running 3 gigs. I thought it wasn't good to have the ram slots be uneven. they don't make 1.5 gig modules do they?
     
  7. minis2003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #7
    i am running 1gb and a 2 gb ram stick. the MacBook is alot faster then with only 1 gb in it.
    :D
     
  8. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #8
    There's a slight advantage with dual channel mode, but having 3GB over 2GB will always win, even without dual channel operation.
     
  9. adauge macrumors regular

    adauge

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #9
    Oh ok. So it's not actually harmful?
     
  10. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #10
    No, certainly not.
     
  11. Cuban///M3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
  12. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    I had been running 3gig in mine while trying to diagnose what seems to be an unrelated problem...it was much smoother than it was with the standard 1gig...:)
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    This would be easier to answer if we knew what country you were in...
     
  14. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #14
    $93 at Omni via Ramseeker.com

    $93 with this Ramseeker link to Omni Tech. Says it's for MacBook Pro but it's the same ram needed for the MacBook.
     

Share This Page