What is the trick to use the clam shell mode?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lukester, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. lukester macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #1
    I can get it to work sometimes. When you close the lid it goes to sleep. What do you do to get it to work using the external monitor?
     
  2. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #3
    Hey thanks but my desktop does not appear on the external display. It is always on my MBP. I do not use mirror displays.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Set it to be your main display when you plug it in (dont have my Mac here atm so not sure what to select)
     
  4. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #5
    I cannot find where you set the remote as the main display. I looked in the system prefs. and the display prefs. and can't find it.
     
  5. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #6
    If you want your external display to be the main display while in clamshell mode, just go into display options, and drag the dock over to external display.
     
  6. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #8
    Can't drag it.. I must be a big Duhhh
     
  7. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #9
    Got it! Thanks!
     

Share This Page