What is this? an intruder...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cactusface, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Cactusface macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Leicester. UK
    #1
    Hi All,
    I am now on my second Mac pro a 3.1 just put Lion on an 256Gb SSD, fair speed a lot quicker then Yosh 10.10.x with only 8Gb of ram, that must be my next upgrade, some one mentioned cheap 667MHz ram from old servers, anyone know where! and what's cheap.

    Anyway that's not really my question (but please answer). See the attached image, he has popped up on the desktop a couple of times! But is it something I should know about or something I should NOT be tempted to RUN.

    Regards

    Mel.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #2
    That icon is MacKeeper - something you should remove from your system immediately.
     
  3. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    That's the Mackeeper logo, some garbage program that claims to keep your system safe. Did you ever install that?


     
  4. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #4
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    More of the same ^ ^
    That's a MacKeeper popup. You are doing just fine by NOT running that.
    It's been called a nuisance at the least, and active malware by some folks here.
    You can remove it: http://www.macworld.com/article/2861435/how-to-uninstall-mackeeper-from-your-mac.html

    Also, if you don't have it yet, download and run AdwareMedic
    That can find and remove other adware, which these days can be fairly annoying.
     
  6. Cactusface thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Leicester. UK
    #6
    Hi All,
    Many thanks for you prompt replies and advice! I am on the Windows side of things at the moment, but will remove that thing ASAP.

    Regards

    Mel.
     
  7. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    Surre looks like you have Nac Keeper installed.
    Get rid of it.
     
  8. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    In my book THE most agressive markteting for Mac Users!!! ;-(
     
  9. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #9
    eBay is the best place to find 667MHz FB-DIMMs. Most should just work but for extra reassurance check that the seller specifies that it will work in a Mac Pro. What's cheap depends where you live & your local currency. I just bought 32GB (8x4GB) for £80 ($120).
     
  10. Cactusface, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015

    Cactusface thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Leicester. UK
    #10
    Hi All,
    Thanks for the warning, etc. I have now visited the link and followed the instruction and Mackeeper is gone!! I can't recall installing it, unless it's the usual Windows trick of installing it with something else.

    @Nigelbb,
    That does seem cheap, but looking on ebay it all seems to be in the US and postage is expensive, but I still think it's going to be the best upgrade at the minute.

    My current machine has 8Gb of 800Mhz ram, anyone want to buy it!! That might help with buying the 667 stuff.

    Regards

    Mel.
     
  11. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #11
    Your searching of eBay wasn't very thorough:).

    Here is someone in London selling 32GB FB-DIMMs for £99.99 + £8.50 shipping who specifies them as working in a Mac Pro http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/32GB-PC2-...832?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item234e0c5a98

    Here's another selling 16GB (4x4GB) for £39.99 including shipping. They don't specify working in a Mac Pro but it should work from the specs & they have 14 day returns policy. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16GB-4x4G...132?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item27fc1f0dd4
     
  12. Cactusface thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Leicester. UK
    #12
    Oh dear I have to admit to that one!! But thanks for the link, think I will go with the 16GB, as that will half fill my ram slots and give me room for later, but will I ever need more?? how longs a piece of string, as they say. Photo editing will be the most demanding job I do....

    Running OS 10.7 at present and happy, OS 10.10 seems a little slow and shows the beach ball now and again.

    Are there any good FREE stress testing software to test the system??

    Regards

    Mel.
     
  13. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #13
    Geekbench, XBench, Heaven (GPU), Furmark (GPU).

    As for Lion, have you considered to go to Mountain Lion at least? It is much better than Lion.
    Though I do not know why Yosemite would be so slow on such specs, as my 2009 Mac with SSD can handle Yosemite fine.
     
  14. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #14
  15. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #15
    I am glad that I took the chance & bought a couple of the 16GB (4x4GB) for £39.99 packages as they all work fine & now that guy has none left. Under £80 for 32GB was a real bargain.

    Initially I thought I had one bad stick as it took a few minutes for the Mac Pro to be happy with all eight sticks but after I cleaned the contacts & shuffled the sticks about eventually all eight red lights went out. Before returning your one bad stick I suggest that you do as I did just in case you have the same problem. Run memtest to check all is well.
     
  16. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #16
    Yea already done unfortunately. It recognises it and works when cold, but as soon as it gets up to temp if you reboot it drops the stick until it cools.

    I was hoping it was just dust in the riser, certainly seen that a few times!
     
  17. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #17
    The seller still seems to have plenty of stock so at least you can get it replaced. My <£80 was a real bargain but £100 is really great value too. The price for just 8GB of new 800MHz RAM from Crucial is £242.39 which makes 32GB almost £1000!!!
     
  18. B-Eugen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #18
    The latest MacKeeper stunt is to associate the product with other products. For example, I use Scannerz for testing and saw a Google link saying something like "Get the new Scannerz manual now." I went to the site, and immediately an icon goes flying through the air and a fresh, brand new copy of MacKeeper.dmg was sitting in my Downloads folder.

    Our friends at MacKeeper seem to be doing this with lots of products. Fortunately I didn't install it.
     

Share This Page