Resolved What is This Screen on Startup? Why is it happening?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bmcgonag, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. bmcgonag, Aug 30, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011

    bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    My Girlfriends iMac wasn't plugged into a surge protector or battery backup when the power went out a few weeks ago. Initially it wouldn't start backup, so I started it while holding the 'Shift' key.

    It started sloooooooooowly with a grey progress bar at the bottom under the apple logo...now everytime it starts it takes forever, and the progress bar is there.

    Is it something I did, and if so, how do I put it back? I've never seen this before.

    I'm going to try and attach a picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    After reading this article: TAUW it appears when the OS is running some diagnostics. If it occurs every time the recommendation is to back up your data as there may be a hardware issue

    Here's the apple KB article on the issue
     
  3. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #3
  4. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #4
    Holding down the shift key while powerup boots into safe mode. Safe mode will run slower because many things don't run during safe mode like caching and some kernel extensions. To go back to normal boot mode simply restart the computer by using the restart command from the Apple menu.
     
  5. bmcgonag thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I appreciate the link, and she is backing it up now. I have it set to do a backup nightly anyway, but glad to see that article. I'll have a go at the Disc started Disk Utility repair options.

    If all else fails I can always re-install and see if that resolves it.

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page