What is your ideal setup?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Techhie, Sep 27, 2009.

  1. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #1
    If you had an unlimited budget, what would your ideal setup be?
     
  2. fandsw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    #2
    Simple: Just check every Octo MP4,1 box at the highest level with 4 30" Apple Displays!
     
  3. thermodynamic Suspended

    thermodynamic

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Dual 2.93GHz CPUs with 32GB of RAM, four ATi 4870 video cards, RAID 5...

    I have a sneaky feeling that there can only be one answer to your query... maybe two, if people opt for nVidia instead... :D
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    IBM Roadrunner. Currently the fastest computer on the planet. :p

    Internals:
    • 12,960 IBM PowerXCell 8i CPUs
    • 6,480 AMD Opteron dual-core processors
    • Infiniband
    • Linux

    Photo.
     
  5. Techhie thread starter macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #6
    You know everyone needs one of those in their office :D
     
  6. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #7
    I mean the question is always how well does it play WoW.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I could use more RAM, and probably faster drives. Otherwise I'm good. :eek:

    Another display would be nice.

    Though seriously… OP, what kind of answers did you expect? If anyone had an unlimited budget (apart from being crazy), they'd probably get the best of everything.
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    Absolutely. :p

    LMAO! :p

    Exactly. ;) It wasn't limited to Macs, so the OP left the door wide open. :D :p
     
  9. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #10
    How well does that load the pr0nz?

    :p
     
  10. dsiew81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #11
    Unfortunately pointless thread. Next thing we'll hear is that the extra 'h' was intended.
     
  11. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
  12. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Don't forget the shiny new van needed to really make them portable. :p

    I went for the "Super Sized" version with the IBM. Not portable, but who cares. ;) But I forgot to add in the building to house it. :D :p
     
  13. frimple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #14
    And the electric plant to power it and it's A/C!
     
  14. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #15
    Fix'd
     
  15. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #16
    For my selection almost any American home can power the systems. ;)
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    True. :D
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    How does that help with a van though, if you truly want it portable?

    You'd need a rather substantial generator stuffed in the van too. :p
     
  18. ungraphic macrumors 6502a

    ungraphic

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #19
    I'd buy a Mac Pro cheese grater case, and stuff it with faster non-apple used parts, as in, YES, I'D GO HACKINTOSH. Throw in some ridiculously fast RAM, the fastest i7 processor there is, liquid cooling, overclock the sucker, Dual 5870s, a plethora of SSD drives in RAID0 using a proper non-apple branded POS raid card, and a 2tb drive for storage in the secondary bay.

    I'd pay top dollar to have the inside of a mac pro case get refitted for a better PC branded motherboard and better ram.

    I'd pay someone to do this for me, money buys everything, right?

    If I had the mac pro standard comp, i'd just load it with the fastest intel SSD's in RAID0, get some flashes 4890s in crossfire and accelero s1 cooling (silence!) and again a 2tb drive in the optical drive bay.

    As for LCD, i wouldnt even bother with any of the lame apple 'cinema' displays. I'd get a proper Eizo S-IPS matte finish LCD monitor;

    http://www.eizo.com/global/products/coloredge/cg301w/index.html

    As you guys can see, the only thing worthwhile having in a mac, is the operating system itself, nothing else is made by apple.
     
  19. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  20. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #21
    Naw, I don't need it to be portable really. Just that design is very compact and low wattage. Excellent HW selection!
     
  21. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #22
    Take a look at the SGI Octane III. One of the versions uses up to 20 Xeon 55xx processors, and InfiniBand (DDR or QDR mode) all in a case that's small enough to sit on your desk (27.5” x 12.5" x 26.1”)! :eek: :D

    Product page, data sheet.

    Lot's of power, in an itty bitty little space. :p
     
  22. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #23
    Unlimited Budget?

    Umm.. How about build another supercomputer? Forget the 'mini cluster' thing... Build something much much much faster!!! And use more upto date technology.. Perhaps a few thousand's of the current, top of the range of Octo MacPro's with upgraded Nehalem x55 3.3Ghz processors and maxed out 32Gb RAM, replace all the mechanical HD's with super fast, high capacity 1Tb SSD's in RAID format... Use quad channel fibre to network the who lot together!?? Then once all that is done... hire some dude to come fit the air conditioning!!

    Imagine what sort of data centre this could be... but no... this is just a machine for personal uses. :p
     
  23. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #24
    If you want to use an unlimited budget and start a system from scratch, go optical.

    Of course you'd have to do years worth of work (materials & manufacturing on a large scale along with processor design, and maybe even gate work, if the CNOT gates turn out to be a bust), but what the heck. :D :p
     
  24. leighonigar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007

Share This Page