What is your new iMac boot time?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by coronas, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. coronas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #1
    After reading all the posts about issues with the new iMac I just wanna verify if some other people have the same boot time as I do. It currently takes me a minute and ten seconds to boot my 27-inch iMac and I find that pretty long. This is without any peripherals connected. What is yours?
     
  2. Bulldog3777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #2
    Boot Time

    About the same for my 21.5. The white screen stays on longer than my MBP.
     
  3. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #3
    I am guessing you guys don't have a password on startup then? I will let you know how long it takes to start up my quad core when I get it next week. My current 3.06GHz MBP takes exactly 30 seconds to startup without password enabled.
     
  4. coronas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #4
    No, password is not enabled. 53x12 I guess you are using Snow Leopard on your MBP. Any ideas why it takes so long to boot the new iMac?
     
  5. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #5
    Yes I am running SL. No devices attached.
     
  6. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #6
    who reboots?

    I dont think I have shut any off my Macs of in months. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    Ever since sleep was perfected in both windows and mac I don't recall ever turning off a computer
     
  8. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    My early 2009 iMac has a long white/gray screen time too; I think it's a general problem with Macs with Nvidia chipsets.
     
  9. coronas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #9
    I have the ATI chipset and a very long white/grey screen time too.

    I usually don't switch my mac of either since there is no need. But it would be interesting to know why the boot time is so long on the iMac.
     
  10. mpuck972 macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #10
    I timed my 27" the other night and it is just under 30 seconds. I'm not having any of the issues reported by others either. YouTube playback is fine.

    Don't have anything plugged in, and using the mouse and keyboard that came with it. Al I have installed on it is iWork.
     
  11. 27InchMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
  12. VicX macrumors member

    VicX

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #12
    mine 24 secs to reach full screen
    wow.. just luv it
    compared with my 2 yr-old thinkpad... 1 min, well it takes the same time (24 secs) to shut down though
     
  13. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Chipset != graphics card
     
  14. ephraimross macrumors newbie

    ephraimross

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    #14
    My new 27 inch imac is just as bad

    I wondered if I got a bad machine at first.

    I timed mine for comparisons. Nothing external attached, a virtually fresh install. Here we go:

    1:09 for startup.
    6 seconds just for the chime
    44 seconds until the "apple" appears on the white screen

    Weirdly slow.
     
  15. BelowTheBelt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #15
    Giver a few days to build up the boot caches ;-) then it will become quicker over a relatively shot period of time.
     
  16. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #16
    For the new 21 or 27 iMacs with long startup times, go to system prefs and select startup disk, then select you boot drive (usually Macintosh HD). Try rebooting afterwards.

    Usually a long wait at the grey screen (before the Apple logo and spinning pinwheel) means the startup volume hasn't been selected and the system is searching for a valid startup volume.
     
  17. Rarney22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #17
    Wow! My startup time was around a minute, then I tried this and it booted in 25 seconds. Thanks!
     
  18. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #18
    so there is no gain in boottime speed since my iMac G3 700 with 768mb running osx tiger boots in exact 27 seconds .. from pressing the start button until the desktop appears ..ok dashboard and spotlight are disabled...but....ethernet connection and printer and external harddrive connected
    whats the point of a dual core or quad core processor if they need the same time to boot :confused:



    dont understand that wrong now again it contains a bit sarcasm
    what do boot times say about your computer ? will you bin it,scrap it , return it , because it needs 5 or 10 seconds longer for booting then another one ?
     
  19. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #19
    To speed up the stuff you do constantly throughout the day...
    (I can't speak for you, but most don't reboot too often. ;) )

    I had the 40 sec delay (i7 iMac--currently being exchanged) before the apple logo would appear. I made it go away by resetting the pram. Might have accomplished the same thing as setting the startup disk in a more roundabout way... I'm not sure.
     
  20. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #20
    About 15 seconds total from pushing the power button on my i7 with my OCZ Vertex SSD. :)
     
  21. Malivar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #21
    Like 26 seconds on my 21.5", after SL reinstall.
     
  22. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #22
    About the same for me here, 15 secs from the push of the button, takes 3-5 seconds for the chime to come up.

    overall I am extremely happy with the quick boot times of my X25M:D
     
  23. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #23
    tthats exact what i mean i usually put my macs to sleep and wake them with a mouseklick and surprise they wake up instantly
    so why measuring the boottime then , it says nothing about the actual performance of a computer , as you see my sweet little imac g3 has a equal boottime as some 27" imacs , does that mean the g3's performance is equal to a quad core iMac then
     
  24. RooDBwoY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Leamington Spa, UK
    #24
    mine takes a while actually. stays on the white screen for what seems like an age, then after the apple symbol's gone it's really quick.

    doesn't really bother me as half the time I just put it to sleep instead.
     
  25. alexk82 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    East Coast
    #25
    bring back thread

    just seeing if there is any update to this "issue". i recently got a mbp and after seeing that boot up I got more concerned about my slow boot up mac. especially since the apple logo doesn't appear for a couple (20-30) seconds.
     

Share This Page