What keeps turning on SSH?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by JrFreak, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. JrFreak macrumors 6502a

    JrFreak

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #1
    Every so often I open SB Setting and SSH is on when I didn't turn it on. Anyone know why this happens?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I think it turns on automaticly as soon as you restart the phone.
     
  3. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    I've never understood the point of having it off, anyway. Just make sure you change your root and mobile passwords. Then, if something bad happens and the springboard is stuck in a loop of crashes, you can SSH into your phone and attempt to fix it or backup data.

    It's better to have it on and not need it than it is to need it and have it off.
     
  4. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #4
    Yup. It turns back on if you restart the phone.
     
  5. radioBirdman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #5
    this sounds like a really good point. I have always turned it off when I've noticed it back on, but this makes perfect sense.

    And I assume it doesn't use battery unless you're actually using it right?
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    correct
     
  7. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #7
    It doesn't drain the battery.

    If changing the password isn't enough, there are several other ssh options you can do to make it more secure.
     
  8. JrFreak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    JrFreak

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #8
    Thanks for the info. I changed my root password... funny thing though... when I opened up Rock yesterday it said that it noticed that I haven't changed my root password yet... but I did. Not sure what was up with that.
     
  9. ckong macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #9
    I don't have Rock but I'm guessing it's because you didn't change your "mobile" password.
     
  10. JrFreak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    JrFreak

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #10
    Yeah, it did say mobile password. What's the difference between that and my root password?
     
  11. radioBirdman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #11
    the following (when typed into mobile terminal) changes first the root password and then the mobile password.

    As I understand it, the 'root' user is like the admin, while 'mobile' is another, less admin-like user.

    1. su root When prompted to enter your password type 'alpine'. (without quotation marks).

    2. passwd When prompted, enter your new password twice.

    3. passwd mobile When prompted, enter your new password twice.


    Sounds like you've already done 1 and 2.
     

Share This Page