What kind of macpro laptop should I get?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fitworldmac, Dec 3, 2010.

1. fitworldmac macrumors member

Im an amateur photographer.....
    right now, my 15' macbook pro from 06 is a little slow and doesnt have a whole lot of HD space....
    Also, when doing books in aperture I wish I could see the pages BIG!!! but....not sure if I wanna go with the 17'....Im kinda scared I'll look rediculous!!

How much diff does the 8gb ram make as opposed to the 4?

Whats the difference between glossy hi def screen and anti glare screen?

finally...what makes it run fast!!! thats what I want badly...that dreaded spinning beachball is getting on my nerves!

Thanks for any and all responses in advance..

2. hakuryuu macrumors 6502

Any of the new ones are going to seem blazing fast compared to what you have. Having recently received the 17" in my sig (work provided.. love my new job) I can say that it doesn't seem as big as it is. I do think the 15 inch with the Anti-glare high res screen is good enough, though.

But the one bottleneck that will slow things down more than others is the HDD. If you can afford to upgrade to the SSD drives (at least the 256GB if you are doing photos and you have or will have a lot) it will be lightning quick but I have the 500GB 7200 RPM drive and it is sufficient. I don't think going with the 5400 RPM drives is a good idea unless you want to extend battery life.

3. fitworldmac thread starter macrumors member

hmn...interesting....thank you for your detailed reply.

.what about the processor 2.6 vs 2.8?

also...why do you say get the ssd 256 gb? wouldnt any ssd(including the 128 gb) be lightning quick compared to the regular hard drive?

congrats on the new job by the way!

4. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

AlphaDogg

5. Stvwndr219 macrumors 6502