What kind of router you have?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by techguy40, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. techguy40 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    What kind of router you have?

    I have a Linksys WRT54G
     
  2. applefan69 macrumors 6502a

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #2
    D-Link 624
     
  3. Nick T. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    Linksys WRT300N

    I used to have a WRT54G; worked great for 3 or 4 years, then just stopped working.

    why do you ask?
     
  4. atluten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
  5. jcs1088 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  6. MM07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #6
    Same here.
     
  7. BlackMax macrumors 6502a

    BlackMax

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    D-Link DGL-4100 Broadband Gigabit Gaming Router
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    I have a D-Link DIR-655. An absolutely awesome router!

    I previously had a D-Link DGL-4300 which was also very good, but not quite as good as the DIR-655.
     
  9. Globetrotter macrumors regular

    Globetrotter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Belkin G, which can be temperamental at times :rolleyes:
     
  10. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #11
    I have both a Linksys router (though I have no idea exactly what kind it is, and I'm not able to check at the moment) and a 24-port switch on my network. Yes, I've got one of those industrial-strength switches instead of a hub - I put it in there to improve network performance since all but 1 of the ports on that switch are used. Boy, did it ever make a difference. :D
     
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #12
    A breaking SpeedTouch router.

    I can't decide whether to get the Airport Express, Time Capsule, or Extreme to plug my HD into.

    If only the Express had Time Machine support...
     
  12. dsnort macrumors 68000

    dsnort

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    In persona non grata
    #13
    AirPort Extreme

    I tried both a LinkSys and a D-link, but had problems with both with them resetting every few minutes.
     
  13. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #14
    i have a Netgear FR114P connected to an Alcatel ADSL modem and Netgear wireless box... thats right i have the 3 boxes. its so crappy the wireless connection drops every week and i have to reboot them... im going to buy an all in one ADSL2 modem soon.
     
  14. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Netgear DG834G + Airport Extreme (old round type)
     
  15. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    Netgear DG834G (very reliable)
    Airport Express x2
    Airport Extreme Gigabit Version
    D-Link DI624+ (repeatedly crashes)
    Linksys BEFSR41
     
  16. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #17
    A Linksys WRT54G and some D-Link 16 port affair.
     
  17. trevis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #18
    Zyxel

    Zyxel HTW-660 EE
    Previously speedstream from SBC DSL + NetGear MR814
     
  18. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #19
    My actual router is a Soekris Net5501 running M0n0wall 1.3b10

    I have two access points, a gigabit AEBS (N only mode), and a linksys WRT54GS (B/G).
     
  19. ::Lisa:: macrumors 6502a

    ::Lisa::

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
  20. ZachsMacDaddy macrumors 6502

    ZachsMacDaddy

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
  21. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #22
    Netgear Rangemax Next Wireless-N Router adsl
    works well strong signal throughout all 3 floors.
     
  22. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
  23. brad.c macrumors 68020

    brad.c

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    50.813669°, -2.474796°
    #24
    Gnet BB0060B ADSL Modem/router, NATing 8 static IPs
    Linksys 4 port bridge
    Original Airport Extreme UFO 802.11g
    Original Airport Express 802.11g
     
  24. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #25
    Formerly: Linksys WRT54GL
    Now: Time Capsule

    After I got the time capsule up and running, I tried out dd-wrt on my linksys. It loaded and works fine, but the version I have doesn't support ssh tunneling (so I can get around vpn port blocks on my work laptop), which is what I want to use. Hopefully a new version will come out soon that does so I can use that instead of my MBP. It doesn't really matter that much, but I just like having the ability to use an "appliance" rather than my MBP all the time.
     

Share This Page