What limitations will I have when running Leopard on a Mac Mini?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by WizardHunt, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. WizardHunt macrumors demi-god

    WizardHunt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    #1
    Hi Guys,
    What limitations will I have if I upgrade to Leopard? I own a Mac Mini with 2.0 Ghz Duo Processor with 2 GB ram, and well I am wondering if it is worth it for me to upgrade to Leopard? I would like to but would like others opinions.

    Thanks
     
  2. Wyvernspirit macrumors 6502a

    Wyvernspirit

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #2
    I think it should be fine as it is far superior than the minimum requirements.
     
  3. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #3
    with that one you should not have any limitations. if anything leopard will speed it up as it is supposed to be more optomized for intel than Tiger.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  5. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    yup, it has quite a few more graphical features, spaces for one is an awesome feature but its graphic intensive
     
  6. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    I don't think Apple will release an OS that will have problems with their most popular computers GPU.
     
  7. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    not problems per say, just choppyness, heck expose gets choppy on my MBP sometimes
     
  8. WizardHunt thread starter macrumors demi-god

    WizardHunt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    #8
    That is what I am worried about. on the Mac Mini the graphics are not as good as on a imac or better machine.
     
  9. Wyvernspirit macrumors 6502a

    Wyvernspirit

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    There is no way of really knowing this kind of thing till it comes out, or we are sure the beta being used on it is the GM. I think its a wait and see.
     
  10. andrewag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Your mini will run Leopard just dandy. Nothing to worry about here!
     
  11. WizardHunt thread starter macrumors demi-god

    WizardHunt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    #11
    Thanks for info
     
  12. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #12
    Running the Leopard Beta on my MacBook, which is basically the same machine, and everything is smooth as butter. You have nothing to worry about.
     
  13. WizardHunt thread starter macrumors demi-god

    WizardHunt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    #13
    Cool!!!
     
  14. jamesi macrumors 6502a

    jamesi

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Davis CA
    #14
    It will run it fine, should be more than fine. video might suck....w/e i think that the average user will be ok without tapping some of the quartz effects (randomly guessing thats what makes the GMA 950 croak)
     
  15. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    the GMA 950 will be fine

    Apple have said this OS will run on stuff as far back as G4...anything bought in the last year is only going to get better:p

    i'm already looking forward to it...planning on wiping both macs when i get Leopard:eek:
     
  16. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #16
    yeah your mini should be fine.....now my brother's G4 mini might be another story....
     
  17. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #17
    So would it be worth it to get the family pack if I only have the macbook pro and a mini powerpc 1.42ghz? I would like to update the mini and the 1.42ghz seem to be above the 800mhz minimum requirement. I would have to upgrade the ram from 512 to 1 or 2gig
     

Share This Page