What MacBook must I buy? Please help

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by akshay1aluri, May 19, 2013.

1. akshay1aluri macrumors newbie

I am a junior
    I am new to the apple laptops or macbooks.

I did well on my exams and my parents are willing to buy me a macbook.
    They say it is very nice. Even I am extremly interested as well.

In my house the computers are only used by my parents for work purposes.
    I MUST NOT USE THEM AT ANY COST.

I am considering the Macbook pro retina 15 inch

i will use it for

• web browsing
    • youtube videos ( A LOT)
    • Photoedting ( I am new to photography and i am learning it at school but i love it )
    • Videoediting ( planning to do it in the future)
    • NO gaming
    • Using apps like MS office
    • Maybe even using Boot Camp or Parallels

The macbook pros( NON RETINA) are ruled out
    My parents are ready to get the priciest of all macbooks
    but i dont want to waste there money

THE RETINA DISPLAY IS GORGEOUS
    I love it

My parents believe in future proofing so they want me to use the macbook for around like 5 to 6 years.

Can the 15 inch retina replace a desktop or in other words is it a mobile power station?Is it heavy for daily use?

should i consider the 13 inch retina or the macbook air 13 inch?
    I NEED A COMPUTER THAT CAN LAST FOR LONG( MONEY IS NOT AN ISSUE)

I like the portability of the 13 inch air but can it last for long.

I am Sooooo confused
    :confused:
    :confused:

What does Haswell have to offer?but let me know any way.
    I believe it is not that great as I am not a huge gamer.

CAn you tell me the battery life of the following macbooks on ideal use
    • macbook pro retina 15 inch
    • macbook pro retina 13 inch
    • macbook air 13 inch

I expreciate for all the people taking time to answer my questions
    Thank you in advance

2. ccapman670 macrumors regular