What Macbook Pro should I get?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ianrumuar, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. ianrumuar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #1
    I gonna buy my first macbook pro soon but i have a hard time to pick what size it is. Some apps that i will run are the iWork suite, and the Adobe CS4 Web Standard. I will not play games there since i dont play at all. I will also put there hundreds of songs, pictures and some movies from my old pc.

    also, i'm already a college student so i gonna take advantage to the education discount.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    2.26GHz MBP is enough. Just buy 4GB RAM from 3rd party.
     
  3. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Plus a SSD or a larger/faster hard drive.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Better HD is an extra. 7200rpm drives cause vibrating, heat issues and shorter battery life and SSDs are expensive and has tiny volume. 5400rpm is enough and he can upgrade to SSD when they are bigger and cheaper
     
  5. Jabbamk1 macrumors member

    Jabbamk1

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    I would recommend the basse 15" model as it has a larger screen which makes it much easier to watch movies and use CS4 apps. e.g photoshop. However go to the apple store and see which size is the best. Once you have decided get the base model and maybe later upgrade to 4GB ram.
     
  6. ianrumuar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #6
    i think i gonna buy the 15" base model since the screen size is perfect for me.

    thanks for helping me guys..

    anyway, as soon i buy my 1st mac, i gona buy a 'bodyguardz' transparent film for it and also a sleeve.

    Is there a waterproof sleeve for the macbook pro?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Found this. Don't know how 15" fits in.
     
  8. ianrumuar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #8
    too bad im on the philippines. Anyway, i gonna look for that if ever i have time.

    Is caselogic a good brand for laptop cases?
     
  9. Guiguiga macrumors regular

    Guiguiga

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale - FL
    #9
    Don't get excited by the free ipods, they just want to get rid of them

    Look at the refurbished models. they offer the same warranty and save you hundreds of $.

    Look at this model I bought today: $1449 15" + 320GB + 512MB 9600GT + 4GB RAM


    It turns out to be $50 cheaper than the high end little 13" Macbook Pro they are offering right now.
     
  10. macdaddy01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #10
    Do refurbished models come in a special "refurb" box, or do they have the original box?
     
  11. Guiguiga macrumors regular

    Guiguiga

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale - FL
    #11
    Brown Box

    The only difference is that the refurbished ones come in a brown box and not in the white box as if you bought the brand new one.

    Everything else is the same and you save hundreds of $$$$
     
  12. stranger danger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #12
    I got that one for $1579 with no tax, brand-new from MacConnection before they ran out :)
     
  13. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #13
    +1
     
  14. ianrumuar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #14


    Can i order refurbished mac on US even I'm on the other country? cause I don't see any refurbished mac on the philippines apple store.
     
  15. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    I think you can't. You need at least USA credit card to do that. I would've ordered my Mac from US of course because it was 400€ cheaper
     

Share This Page