What Macbook would be best for my daughter?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Robert Spera, May 28, 2012.

1. Robert Spera macrumors newbie

I have no clue where to start when it comes to computers. Could any of you please help me? Please excuse my horrible writing I am not very good at englash. Thank you for much.

2. MichaelLAX macrumors 6502a

post more information:

her age

what she would do with it

college, high school

etc...

3. McGiord macrumors 601

McGiord

4. Robert Spera thread starter macrumors newbie

school work
    college

5. MichaelLAX macrumors 6502a

Consider MacBook Air 13"

Macbook Air at Apple Store

Very lightweight; bigger internal storage option for more money; No optical (DVD/CD) drive, but can purchase external one if needed

6. Robert Spera thread starter macrumors newbie

Really? I though the Macbook Pro is like top notch and the thing to have. Please explain to me why a air would be better for my daughter.

7. KieranDotW macrumors 6502a

If she was going into film, photography, programming, etc. the additional power of the Pro is a must. Simple word processing and web browsing will require nothing more than an Air in most cases.
    HOWEVER, the optical drive (CD/DVD), Ethernet port (wired Internet), more disc space (more room for files), and upgradable RAM (makes it faster) are all still pretty essential for college (assuming this will be her only computer), however this could change in a few years.

8. Ccrew macrumors 68020

Check with the college based on the curriculum. Some have very specific requirements, and some like my daughters engineering school don't support Mac's. Anyone that makes a recommendation at this point for a specific machine more often than not is just recommending what they have rather than trying to know what may be very specific requirements for your daughters needs.

9. j.dstasio macrumors 6502

j.dstasio