What memory is definitly going to work?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ddpid, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. ddpid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #1
    I just bought a new mid 2011 model mac mini at its baseline to be used as a primary machine until i get an "ultimate" iMac. (don't ask:))
    Any way i was wondering what ram will, with out a doubt, work in my mac.
    I looked at apple but $400(love you apple but no thanks)
    looked at amazon found a few choices. (definitely under $400)

    Please give me a tried and true answer if you can- that is you are someone you know used that ram in this model mac mini, thanks.:apple:
     
  2. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Go to

    Crucial.com or macsales.com

    Look up your system and place your order.
     
  3. ddpid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #3
    Wow thanks!
    Nice to get fast and reliable answers. Macrumors rules!
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    Amazon has a Crucial 8GB set (2x4GB) on sale for $50 right now! I was like holy crap when I found that. Plus there's a $10 rebate on top of that. HERE is the link.
     
  5. Sdevante macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #5
    That's actually Corsair, not Crucial, but that is the set I ordered and I've had no problems with it for over a week now.
     
  6. DesertSilver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I purchase this exact same Corsair memory also for my mini and have no issues at all.
     
  7. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #7
    Owc

    NEVER-EVER had a problem with Ram or SSD's for that matter!:cool:
     
  8. mikochu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #8
    Yesterday, I received my Corsair 8GB kit from Amazon and ran memtest overnight without a hitch. Today, I'm having the system run another a 255 sequence memtest while I'm at work. I hope all goes well.
     
  9. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #9
    any ddr3-pc10666 1333mhz unbufferred CL9 204-pin SO-DIMM at 1.5v will work. those are the specs, up to you which brand you buy (crucial, corsair, gskill, patriot, kingston, samsung, etc.). 8gb can be found for $40-$50.
     
  10. accessoriesguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #10
    That lifetime warranty on the RAM aint to shabby either right?
     
  11. rshanahan, Aug 20, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2011

    rshanahan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    North East, MD
    #11
    Just installed the Corsair this morning (I got mine from newegg for 45 w/10 rebate, 35 aint too bad). Running tests now but I believe it will be fine.

    EDIT, failed on 1st pass will try again, reseat, might have to send back, oh no!
     
  12. ricardoflamingo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #12
    I had to send my 8gig of Corsair back to Amazon. Ordered some Crucial, I hope that works.
     
  13. FluffyPop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    #13
    I wanted to get Corsair RAM but since many people seem to have problems with it, I ordered Crucial instead. Works great :)
     
  14. FearGhost macrumors member

    FearGhost

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #14
    +1 for Crucial memory. I've had 8Gb of Crucial memory in my 2010 MBP since December and not one problem :) Also 8Gb of Crucial memory in my 2011 Mac mini and again not a single problem in a month :) Highly recommended.
     
  15. littlezipp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    #15
    Frys 8GB on sale now

    $39.99 after rebate - I picked this up to put into my new mini i5 2.5 and working great! These are 1600mhz modules and OSx is running them at full speed. :)
    Once my second HD cable gets here this little monster will be running Raid 0 Force GT's and silent. Speed with the single 120gb GT is amazing!
     
  16. rshanahan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    North East, MD
    #16
    Well, after testing I determined that one dimm was bad. The other was fine (I even ran test on the original ram to make sure the machine was sound). To save on a potential restocking fee, I have rma'd my set and will try a second. If that doesn't work, I'll go to crucial and try this 8gb in my 2010 mini, it might behave better on a 1066 bus.

    I haven't had any issues with non-apple or crucial memory in any of my Macs, this is the 1st time.
     
  17. rshanahan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    North East, MD
    #17

    Good news, I received the replacement Corsair memory and it works just fine. I just got a defective stick in my package. :eek: That didn't sound very good. Shall I rephrase. I just had a bad Dimm in my upgrade kit. :p
     
  18. fireman13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #18
    I'm definitely another for crucial ram. I haven't had one problem. 8gb is cheap right now.
     
  19. mrdctaylor macrumors member

    mrdctaylor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #19

Share This Page