What menu temperture monitor apps are you using?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pimptastic, May 18, 2010.

  1. Pimptastic macrumors regular

    Pimptastic

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Up North, UK
    #1
    I use iStat on my iMac at work but that does more than i need really.

    Just want the temperature of my MacBook to display in the status bar.

    Are there any alternatives?

    Did a quick search but nothing came up.

    Thanks
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    iStat Menus

    I'm pretty sure you can exclude everything else but temperatures if you want (at least this can be done with dashboard widget)
     
  3. Pimptastic thread starter macrumors regular

    Pimptastic

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Up North, UK
    #3
    Yeah, thats what i do on my iMac at work. Just wondering if there were any alternative, especially as iStat is now a paid app
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    iStat Pro is free.
     
  5. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    I have iStat Menus;
    looks like this
    [​IMG]
    I have my GPU temp as the default, and if I click I can see the rest
     
  6. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    Other than curiousity, is there any good reason why a user would need to know their internal temperatures?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    To check everything is okay (no extremely high temps). Basically it's useless but so are many other things people do due curiosity :D
     
  8. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #8
    Found that gaming in Portal has really put some heat on this sucker. never extreme but it's enough to want to know.

    Plus (see pic) you can set your fan speed to medium or default. I am not sure what the RPM's of medium are but it definitely kicks it up. It's like SMC fan control but much easier and less in the way.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. dsprimal macrumors 6502a

    dsprimal

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #9
    i downloaded istat pro from the apple site, but i don't see the section that allows me to control the fan speed like yours. i'm guessing i downloaded a different widget?
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    iStat Pro doesn't offer that but iStat Menus does. To control your fan speeds, download SmcFanControl
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    There is iStat Pro (widget) and iStat Menus (app).
     
  12. dsprimal macrumors 6502a

    dsprimal

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #12
    Thanks guys! I noticed after googling "istat menus apple" in google, that the one offered on the site is free, but its also istat menus 2. and the link to istate menus 3 is not free. Huge difference between the two? and what will be beneficial about controlling fan speeds?
     
  13. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #13
    I use no temperature program. My Macbook Pro takes care of itself :)
     
  14. sn0warmy macrumors 6502a

    sn0warmy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #14
    SMCFanControl is the best. It's free, it does exactly what you are looking for and it's super simple to setup.

    I have my fans set to constantly run at 3500RPM with it (internal temps around 40C under standard conditions). You can set them higher or lower as you please.
     
  15. Pimptastic thread starter macrumors regular

    Pimptastic

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Up North, UK
    #15
    Brillaint, thanks, just what i was looking for. Nice, neat and concise
     
  16. Opstech macrumors 6502a

    Opstech

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    California

Share This Page