What? My 2010 Mac Pro can't manage a gigaflop?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AmishIndy, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. AmishIndy macrumors newbie

    AmishIndy

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I've been an apple fan all my life. I even had a Powerbook G4 Titanium. I remember Apple making a big deal about how that thing could reach a billion floating point operations a second. Today I tried using novabench on my basically stock 2010 2.8 ghz MP (it does have a samsung ssd on an ide bus) and all it could manage was 234.8 megaflops. I'm pretty confident that my current workstation is more capable than my old G4 laptop, but what do I need to do to acheive the golden gigaflop? Would a x5690 do it?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    The problem is that you used a seriously outdated benchmarking software. Novabench simply unable to function as expected.
     
  3. AmishIndy thread starter macrumors newbie

    AmishIndy

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Location:
    Illinois
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    don't know why you particular want this number, but GB3 actually provide quite a few flops results.
    Screen Shot 2016-11-29 at 23.29.37.jpg
     
  5. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #5
    Perhaps it has something to do with the AltiVec processing engine in the G4 / G5 processors. Way back in the day I used to run the Distributed Net client which saw a significant boost in performance on the G4 processor compared to the G3 processor (and Intel processors). A lowly 450MHz G4 easily bested higher clocked Intel processors (much in the same way as GPU's now best CPU's in the work).

    FYI I ran the NovaBench benchmark on my 2010 quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro and received 262 Mflops. I'll see if I can find a version which will run on my G4 and G5 systems and report what I find.
     

Share This Page