What newsgroup app do you use and why?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by djrobsd, Jun 15, 2011.

1. djrobsd macrumors 6502a

I have been using SABNZBD, it's an awesome daemon that runs in the background of the OS with a web front end. It seems to work great in Linux and Windows, but this is my first time using it on a Mac.

When I run the app, and it's unpacking files, it grinds my quad core i7 to a halt, and I can't figure out why, but I'm tired of trying to troubleshoot open source software that's not working right on my system, so I'm wondering..

What news group app do you use on your mac, and is it stable, reliable, and works in the background, still allowing you to go about your normal business?

2. OddyOh macrumors regular

OddyOh

Try Unison, by Panic.
    http://www.panic.com/unison/
    Been using this for years, never really had any issues. Easily worth the $30, great developer.

3. robotphood macrumors 6502a

Sabnzb on 2 Mac laptops and a windows desktop. All C2Ds with no problems when unpacking. I came from grabit and other gui heavy windows clients so I fought sabnzb for a while but now I don't see myself switching to anything else. It's so flexible yet the web interface is simple and clean. I can get in and out quickly (especially remotely) and everything runs smoothly in the background. It's the perfect client for binary folks. Hope you can solve your problem somehow!

4. x-kid macrumors newbie

i'm using sabnzb on my i5 mac and haven't noticed any problems while unpacking. i find it's the best program due to it's flexiblility.

5. hexonxonx, Jun 15, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011

hexonxonx macrumors 601

Can Unison handle .nzb files?

Edit: There doesn't seem to be a way to open .nzb files.

6. flat five macrumors 603

flat five

i only subscribe to one newsgroup but i use thunderbird for that (and only that.. i use mail.app for my email)
    http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/