What next?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by CynthiaDesigns, Aug 4, 2010.

1. CynthiaDesigns macrumors newbie

CynthiaDesigns

First I have to thank most all of you that post here as I have found the answers to many of my noob problems while hovering in the shadows reading post after post. I have been a graphic artist for most of my life and began (many-many years ago) writing html (don’t really remember why, I just did).

Last September I took on the job of online church service director at our church. Our pastor is a Mac man. The church had been converted totally over to iMac’s before I began working there. I am now converted (*hallelujah* - I’ve heard that every time someone buys a Mac an angel gets wings) Don’t know what I would do without my MacBook Pro.

We began streaming services a year ago come October 1st on http://streamingchurch.tv

With hours of online research, talking the ears off several people at the Mac store and Best Buy, I managed to put together the following and I realize there was/is probably a better way - thats why I'm posting. The pastor gave me one director order: "It all has to be Mac."

Our current set-up is (began using in January of this year):

Canon GL2 Camcorder connected via 6-pin firewire crossing 75 ft in distance in 15 ft segments of PCCABLES Firewire Repeater Extension Cables to a Mac Pro with OS X 10.5.8 Quad-core Standard config. running BoinxTV 1.6 (love this software by the way) also using all the ‘hoop-jumping’ software required to stream with BoinxTV: CamTwist, Soundflower and Adobe Flash Media Encoder.

We use an AirPort Extreme with 5GHz dedicated to the Mac Pro for streaming. I chose the AirPort Extreme because in the past when anyone else in the building would get online for anything at all during a service it really goofed up the streaming. The 2.4GHz is all theirs now and does slow down the streaming process at all.