What options in pwnage should ATT customers use?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bbplayer5, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #1
    Neuter basically allows unsigned code right? So which options do I run in this program to jailbreak without any unlock etc?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. sixth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #2
    Good q...wondering the same thing...what do valid ATT customers need to do?
     
  3. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #3
    no neuter is not what allows unsigned code. "pwning" allows the unsigned code.

    neuter is an app that you can choose to install with your own unsigned image in order to unlock, change your bootloader etc..

    with pwning there is no longer the need to jailbreak because the code on your phone is already opened to your modifications.

    you would still use the pwn utility, still have access to the file structure, and could even install the neuter app to change your boot loader and such if you want.

    watch this video and you'll see what i mean:

    http://www.viddler.com/explore/engadget/videos/5/
     
  4. pixel.junkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #4
    just uncheck all of the check boxes, that will give you just the jailbreak. Once you've restored to the new firmware, you should see the installer.app icon

    :)
     
  5. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #6
    So once I jailbreak 1 time with this, my phone will always allow unsigned code?
     
  6. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #7
    that is my impression. because it modifies the bootloader and not the firmware itself it's a lower level operation and makes changes before a restore.

    i don't believe a legit restore in itunes touches the bootloader ever (someone correct me if my assumption is incorrect) meaning the only way to bring your iPhone to a "true" normal state after any amount or types of restores is to install neuter and "un-neuter" the firmware which will bring it back to a OTB state.

    again, haven't tried this yet as i'm at work but i'll do it tonight and let you know if my assumptions are indeed correct.
     
  7. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #8
    i just fussed around with this for like 2 hours and i got it to have the installer.app on it but i wouldn't get any service. restored to original 1.1.4 and i have service.

    really not sure why this is happening but whatever. i guess ill just wait.
     
  8. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #9
    I have the same problem. I get no service when I try to rejailbreak with pwnage. It seems as if the main purpose of this tool is to unlock it. No one can answer my question over on the devs forum either. I wanted to load the new firmware on the phone, but i get no service.
     
  9. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #10
    I have been working with this all day. To pwnage to work with ATT you still need to unlock the phone. It is not a big deal to unlock your phone now because it uses the 4.6BL so your google maps will still work. If need be you can still flash your firmware back to 1.1.4 to bring it to apple for repair.
     
  10. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
  11. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #12
    Yes, but use 4.6BL instead of 3.9. 3.9 will not allow locate me feature to work and might give you issues with youtube.
     
  12. Chris Welch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Did you people getting no service bother restarting your iPhone after the initial installation and after BootNeuter does its thing?

    Mine showed no service, but was fine after a restart.
     
  13. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #14
    i restarted it after and still was without service. just unlocked and have service
     
  14. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
  15. pixel.junkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #16
    on o2 here, restored to 1.1.4 before trying pwnage.
    applied pwnage.
    built a custom ipsw with everything unchecked.
    restored to the custom firmware.
    Done.
    everything works fine , full o2 service, installer.app, no wifi issues, edge, you tube all perfect.

    i haven't got boot neuter on there, no unlocks/flashed baseband or anything. Just the pwnage ability to restore custom firmware, and a jailbroken phone.
     
  16. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #17
    If you are on ATT make sure you hit unlock not just neuter. You will need to apply both to get service.
     
  17. Red Sox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #18
    I believe this is incorrect. I got mine to work with 1.1.4 and 2.0 without unlocking, using AT&T. Both worked fine.

    With 1.1.4, I left all boxes unchecked when using ipswBuilder. For 2.0, I had to check activate.

    Perhaps those of you guys who can't get service have the wrong baseband, from a previous jailbreak?
     
  18. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #19
    this was the first time i jailbroke my phone, no unlocking doesn't even matter tho
     
  19. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #20
    I just pwned, neutered and unlocked my 16G ATT iphone. I did NOT check off activate, since its an ATT sim. So far so good!
     
  20. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #21
    FOR ANYONE ON AN OFFICIAL IPHONE CONTRACT ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD IF YOU UNLOCK YOUR PHONE!

    If you EVER want to put another SIM in the phone - you HAVE TO ACTIVATE IT!

    iTunes ONLY ACTIVATES YOUR PARTICULAR SIM card in the phone when it was activated.

    Your phone won't let any other SIM work! not even another AT&T SIM

    The iPhone has two methods to stop unlocking - the lock and activation - you beat the lock but not the activation for any other SIM - only your real contract iphone SIM!

    So you will have to rebuild and restore if you ever want to put another SIM in there - even an official SIM!
     
  21. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #22
    If anyone unlocked using ziphone they will have major issues with this. Not all ATT customers are having this issue it could depend on when you purchased your phone. The quick fix for this is just simply unlocking your phone.
     
  22. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #23
    I had to unlock my ATT phone to use pwnage. Otherwise, I would get no service. It works fine now. I hope there's a way I can reverse it if I ever have to send it in.
     
  23. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #24
    To reverse all you have to do is send you phone into DFU and restore using itunes and original firmware.
     
  24. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #25
    where have you been? i think everyone here has known this since june 29th
     

Share This Page