What OS for a WhiteBook 5,2

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by blinkie, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. blinkie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I've been considering upgrading my Macbook 5,2 (2.0GHz, 4GB ram) from Snow Leopard. What's the 'highest' os I can go to without compromises or workarounds? Or I'm I stuck in the past?
    Thanks
    B.
     
  2. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    10.7, 10.8, 10.9 or 10.10 all work fine with 4GB ram

    last 2 are free so why are you living in the past ?

    Your MacBook can run the most recent OS Yosemite......
     
  3. MCAsan, Nov 12, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2014

    MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    Apple MacBook "Core 2 Duo" 2.13 13" (White-09) Specs

    Identifiers: Mid-2009 - MC240LL/A - MacBook5,2 - A1181 - 2330

    All MacBook Models | All 2009 Models | Dynamically Compare This Mac to Others

    Distribute & Use Page: Bookmark & Share or Embed | Download: PDF Manual


    Apple MacBookQuietly unveiled without a press release -- just like the model it replaced -- the Apple MacBook "Core 2 Duo" 2.13 13-Inch (White - Mid-2009) features a 45 nm "Penryn" 2.13 GHz Intel "Core 2 Duo" processor (P7450), with two independent processor "cores" on a single silicon chip, a 3 MB shared "on chip" level 2 cache, a 1066 MHz frontside bus, 2 GB of 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM (PC2-6400) installed in pairs (two 1 GB modules), a 160 GB Serial ATA (5400 RPM) hard drive, an 8X DL "SuperDrive", a NVIDIA GeForce 9400M "graphics processor with 256 MB of SDRAM shared with main memory", and a 13.3" widescreen TFT active-matrix "glossy" display (1280x800 native resolution).

    The MacBook "Core 2 Duo" 2.13 13" (White - Mid-2009) shares the same white polycarbonate case as the MacBook "Core 2 Duo" 2.0 13" (White - Early 2009) that it replaced and connectivity is the same as well with AirPort Extreme (802.11a/b/g/n), Gigabit Ethernet, a FireWire "400" port, two USB 2.0 ports, optical digital audio in/out, and video out capabilities (mini-DVI) that supports an external display. The hard drive is larger and the memory is faster. Interestingly, Apple also officially claims that this model provides 5 hours of battery life (up from 4.5 hours on the model replaced).

    Internally, this system has quite a bit in common with the MacBook "Core 2 Duo" 2.0 13" (Unibody) and is equipped with the same NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics, but uses a faster processor and slower RAM (800 MHz DDR2 compared to 1066 MHz DDR3 in the "Unibody" models).

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-duo-2.13-white-13-mid-2009-nvidia-specs.html




    Yosemite upgrade requirements

    1. Check your Mac hardware.

    To get details about your Mac model, click the Apple icon at the top left of your screen, choose About This Mac, then choose More Info. These Mac models are compatible with OS X Yosemite:

    iMac (Mid 2007 or newer)
    MacBook (Late 2008 Aluminum, or Early 2009 or newer)
    MacBook Pro (Mid/Late 2007 or newer)
    MacBook Air (Late 2008 or newer)
    Mac mini (Early 2009 or newer)
    Mac Pro (Early 2008 or newer)
    Xserve (Early 2009)


    2. Check your version of OS X.

    While you have the About This Mac window open, check what version of OS X your Mac is running. You’ll see it listed beneath your serial number. You can upgrade to OS X Yosemite from the following:

    OS X Snow Leopard (v10.6.8)
    OS X Lion (v10.7)
    OS X Mountain Lion (v10.8)
    OS X Mavericks (v10.9)
    Have an older version of OS X? Learn how to upgrade


    http://www.apple.com/osx/how-to-upgrade/
     
  4. blinkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #4
    Thanks logana. The reason I've been living in the past is that everything's been working just fine. I've had no proper reason to upgrade. It's only now that I'm starting to encounter some issues with 10.6. and the applications that run on it.. Safari mainly.
     
  5. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #5
    Yep... in my opinion, the main reason for upgrading from Snow Leopard is Safari.
     
  6. blinkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #6
    Aperture caution

    It all seems to be working so far. But a wee word of caution to anyone in a similar situation who stumbles over this thread. The version of Aperture that I occasionally used in Snow Leopard is NOT compatible with Mavericks. To upgrade to the current version costs £50something. I was, however, able to import the Aperture images to the new iPhoto without spending a penny.
     
  7. DaKKs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #7
    That really pissed me off honestly. Worked fine in Mavericks but just throws an error popup on Yosemite.
     

Share This Page