What PC to build for Photoshop & Lightroom use?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Macinposh, Jun 24, 2013.

1. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

Ha!

You heard me!

So, after 20 years of mac+photoshop useage it is time to go to the dark side...
    Working as a photographer I have been using the combo since quadras and 1.05.

Has been a lovely relationship, I have gotten my work done.

Now it seems that it is time to move on.

Switched to the adobe cloud few months ago and my MP 1.1 is still ticking along...hell...soon comes 7 years of continuous work with the machine.
    Lovely piece of kit but it starts to show its age, especially as
    I switched to Hasselblad few months ago.

Phothoshop can handle files up to 500-700megs quite well, but you start to
    take performance hits over that.
    And lightroom...well...there the bigger file sizes start to show.
    Rendering 500 preview frames...well...it is not blazingly fast anymore!

In short, I have come conclusion that it might be time to hop on to the
    PC side. Faster hardware, better gfx card situation, ease to switch with the cloud and Win 8.1 coming up soon.

So, via what route to go?

i7?
    Xeon??

I have been looking at some prebuilt "workstations" with

- i7 4770K 3.5
    - 16Gb
    - NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN 6 GB

They would run around 2400€.

Some i7 workstations with lower spec cards could be had for 1800€ish.
    So basically the same price as some Xeon E5 workstations like
    HP Z420 1P Xeon E5-1620 (+ gfx card).

What route to go?
    Have you found some good readups from the interwebz?
    Tried to browse the usual forums but didnt see any articles that would have been deep & thorough enough.
    Your opinions?

As I am from europe I dont have the possibility to buy the present Macpros
    and as I need a lot of firewire peripherals & internal expandability,
    I will not go the TrashCanPro way either.

ps.I know,I know...it is kind of blasphemous to jump the boat..but..oh well..