What PLL/Clock Generator does the MBP use?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LoneWolf121188, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #1
    I know its a GM965 chipset/northbridge, but what specific clock generator do the MBPs use? The reason I ask is cause I'm trying to get ClockGen and/or SetFSB to work on Vista and I'm not having any luck.
     
  2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #2
    Heh heh. Trying to overclock a two grand lapop? This oughtta be good.

    Seriously, man. Not worth it. Why take the risk?
     
  3. iCeFuSiOn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #3
    If you feel like frying your MacBook Pro, then by all means try running ClockGen/SetFSB. A friend of mine bought a brand new Santa Rosa Dell Inspiron notebook and he wound up frying it by selecting what he thought was the correct clock generator. Not worth it.
     
  4. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #4
    Hey, I know what I'm doing. I've done this plenty on the desktop side and I know exactly what the limitations are when you go mobile. Plus, I'm not really looking to OC per say, its just that I'm having a GPU issue that can usually be solved by upping the PCIe bus a notch or two. But given that I'm on a mac w/o a BIOS, I need to do that from within windows.
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Instead of overclocking, you should try GPU drivers for windows such as:

    laptopvideos2go.com
    omegadrivers.net
     
  6. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #6
    already tried em. Thanks though.
     

Share This Page