What printer brand is the most mac-friendly?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by donjao, Aug 7, 2010.

1. donjao, Aug 7, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011

donjao macrumors member

Hello everyone.

I have experience with 2 Canon printers, 1 Lexmark. None of them did the job well. Canon drivers did not allow to scan, Lexmark had wireless printing issues and some weird hardware error when I had to open it up and take out and take in the cartridges to make it print again.

Now my question, what brand makes MOST Mac friendly drivers and printers themselves? I'm thinking of Brother, but I have no experience with it, and I don't know how well drivers work. Basically I'm after a MFU without fax. Just print/scan/copy functions.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT 2011/24/02:

Ok, after a 6 month search I've came across the Konika-Minolta printers. And guess what, it's winner. Incredible driver support, outstanding built quality, a bit pricey though, but WELL worth it.

So, whoever is still concerned - this is what I've got: http://www.konicaminolta.co.uk/busi...ion/magicolor-4690mf-4695mf/introduction.html

[​IMG]

2. *LTD* macrumors G4

*LTD*

Brother. Hands-down. At least at the moment.

Great drivers which take advantage of all the capabilities of the printer, e.g., the Brother HL-5370DW does true 1200x1200 resolution text printing, as it should.

Further, Brother customer support is excellent and their printers are very reliable.

As far as PostScript printing goes, it's decent but not amazing. Still, I highly recommend Brother printers.

3. MacInTO macrumors 6502a

MacInTO

I've have two HPs. Both are pretty good. The software was sketchy for a period but it's been great with Snow Leopard.

4. khollister macrumors 6502a

khollister

For lasers, I agree Brother is great. For photo inkjets, Epson or Canon are good. For AIO inkjets, Canon seems pretty good from my limited experience.