what processor will the new rMBPs have? 32GB capable?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by patent10021, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    I'm really not feeling good about spending $3K for the top of the line rMBP only to be limited to 16GB for audio work. Eyeing the MP but once you add the display etc it gets expensive. And I'd have to add a retina display for my other Photo work. I couldn't just go out and get a cheap $300 display for audio.

    My question is will the upcoming rMBPs have a processor capable of 32GB RAM? Are those Broadwell?
     
  2. MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
  3. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
  4. Woodcrest64 macrumors 65816

    Woodcrest64

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #4
    My guess is by 4th quarter of next year with Intel's Skylake and DDR4.
     
  5. 0x100, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2016

    0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    The processor in the non retina macbook pro is capable of 32 GB memory. The dimms aren't really here though.
    Source: http://ark.intel.com/products/64893/Intel-Core-i7-3520M-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-3_60-GHz
     
  6. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #6
    Yeah I was reading on a Broadwell thread that these Haswell MBPs can already take 32GB but since Apple focuses on thinness there's no room to put 4 sticks.

    I'm pretty chocked. I really need a Mac laptop with 32GB. I wouldn't call 16GB pro especially when it concerns video/audio guys.
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    With RAM compression, most people would be fine with 8, fewer still need 16, and even fewer still would need 32.

    Having 16GB around would be like having 24-30GB of RAM already, although it's still not as good as native 32GB. Better than nothing though.
     
  8. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #8
    Even with video editing or music, no one should need more than 16GB right now on a laptop. If you need that much, you need the extra power of a desktop (either PC or Mac).
     
  9. patent10021, Nov 18, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2014

    patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #9
    Contradicting statement. If I need it with a desktop then I need or might need it on a laptop. One being mobile and one being a desktop. Unless you want to carry around a MP and a display on the plane or in the field then a laptop with 16GB and possibly more is needed for some people. i.e. Pros. I mean especially if you compare prices the rMBP being in the ballpark of a low end MP is pretty steep.

    It is what it is and I'll have to buy a rMBP anyway but to me, I don't consider it a Pro machine. Is it more pro than the other laptops? Of course it is but only because it's quad core. Does a 'pro' need the thinnest laptop? No. I'd rather it be 3mm thicker with 32GB.

    In my opinion pro isn't about design, it's about capability/specs. I'd also like to have 32GB and Quad Core on 13". Why does pro have to be related to display size? I would like to use a 13" rMBP quad core on a 10 hr flight to get some serious work done.

    But I'm obviously in the minority.

    Oh well, maybe next year.





    .
     
  10. paolo- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #10
    With the current processors, I don't see the point of 32 GB of RAM. For most applications, the CPU will be a much larger (well smaller) bottleneck. If you need 32 GB ram, you need the rest of the components to follow suit. I don't see Apple adding 2 ram slots for the fringe cases that would benefit from it.

    How well have you calculated this? I personally choke the CPU way before I run out of ram on my rMBP in Logic X and I only have 8 GB in my machine.

    It sounds to me like you need a desktop machine to handle your workload or properly asses it. I'm actually thinking of replacing my 15" rMBP with a smaller laptop for on the road use and a desktop with much more processing power.
     

Share This Page