What Program Does This Login Window Go With!?!?!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bikerguy7, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. bikerguy7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #1
    hey so i was typing some stuff on my computer, got mad, and started slamming keys and this window popped up (see attached). Anyway, i'm pretty sure the key combo is shift+fn+control+command+s. Any ideas what this is? i've never seen it before. thanks in advance for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mew2468 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the 2010 Winter Games
    #2
    No idea, but don't enter your password until you know what it is. /end obvious advice
     
  3. bikerguy7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #3
    i already tried my computer password but it didnt work. it's clearly a third party app that's running in the background but i want to know what it does. thanks.
     
  4. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #4
    if it's officially for an app it should pop out attached to the corresponding window, if not, i wouldn't put anything in, just in case ;)
     
  5. robert05au macrumors regular

    robert05au

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Dubbo, NSW
    #5
    Could you please list any third party apps you have installed.

    I have seen a similar window asking for access previously and I am trying to work out where I saw it.

    Also which app where you using at the time it appeared?

    Which OSX system version are you running?
     
  6. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    You may want to check in your Screen Saver list also. That key combo could be a shortcut to activate a certain screensaver.
     
  7. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #7
    I would suggest changing your user password... just in case. (At least add a 1 to the end of it)

    The app *could* be malicious, and in that case you just handed over your password.
     
  8. robert05au macrumors regular

    robert05au

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Dubbo, NSW
    #8
    It is from somewhere other than apple as I tried the screensaver requiring password to unlock.

    I agree with the others the chances of being malicious is there and changing your password is a good idea.
     
  9. neutrino23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay area
    #9
    Try launching Activity Monitor. List the processes by name and look through there and see if anything rings a bell.

    You can launch this by going to Spotlight and typing Activity. It should come to the top and you only need to press return.
     

Share This Page