What program would I use? Very basic advice needed.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Soundburst, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Soundburst macrumors 6502a

Hello,

I am a complete programming novice.

I have Dreamweaver 8 and I'm looking to create a map of Ireland. On the map I'm going to tag certain villages and towns and sites that people can click.

when they click on a town I want to bring up a subpage that contains an article, a photo and more importantly A SOUND RECORDING that plays while they read. This can immerse the viewer in the soundworld of that area.

Ideally the bigger plan is to create a massive world version of the map and people can log in and upload their own tag/town (eg someone in France can upload their local town with a photo, description and audio sample of the sounds of that town). . .eventually the globe would be covered and you could immerse yourself in the sound and feel of every town there is.

I've been told that Google Maps "API" is the best to use for a map. May I ask how I go about starting this issue? I'd really appreciate some advice. Once I get started I can read the appropriate books and tutorials.

2. designguy79 macrumors 6502

Google Map's API is very cool, but it is not a program -- it is "application programming interface" that allows you to send certain commands/info to Google Maps and they return maps, coordinates, etc.

There is no particular one program that will build what you are wanting to do.

You will need to learn HTML, CSS, JavaScript and Google Map's API.

Not a task for the faint of heart! I hope you are up for lots and lots of learning.

Good luck, and more importantly, have fun!

3. DJBenE macrumors member