What RAM do I need to buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ivorito, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. ivorito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #1
    Hi, i have the 2010 uni-body white mac book. It has the 2.4 GHz core 2 duo processor. Apple says that the maximum RAM is 4Gb but numerous other sources say it is 8GB. At the moment i have 4Gb, but i would like to upgrade to 8. No idea what RAM i need to buy though... Any suggestions? I had a look on the crucial scanner thing but they seem to think it only goes up to 4GB too, so there were no 2*4Gb modules suggested. (if you do use a link, it would be preferable if it was for the UK :p )
    Thanks very much

    ----------

    Sorry, I probably should of left a link to one. Would this one work?
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=CT2KIT51264BC1067&cpe=pd_google_uk
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
  3. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #3
    I did earlier, as i tried to say, but it only says it goes up to 4GB for my Mac-book. However, many other places say it actually goes up to 8Gb so crucial did not tell me what modules i can use for 8Gb.
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    If Crucila says 4, then 4 it probably is...They don't tend to get it wrong often.
     
  5. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #5
    Yeah but I'm pretty sure other sources say otherwise:

    Every-mac say its 8gb (follow link, on specs near the bottom)
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-13-polycarbonate-unibody-mid-2010-specs.html

    Mactracker also say 8Gb is maximum, and having read some threads on forums, it seems many people have done the upgrade...
     
  6. tug macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    loughborough. u.k.
    #6
  7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    From past experience that RAM should work fine...If you install RAM that's faster than your Mac supports, my understanding is that it will simply run at the max speed your LB and system allows.
     
  8. tug macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    loughborough. u.k.
    #8
    great to know bud, thanks for that, i think I'm just gonna go to 6gb (1x 2gb + 1x4gb)

    for what i do it should be all i need. sometimes practically max ram out when doin cpu intensive stuff (lowest i got to was 15mb free :D)
     
  9. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Intel should be able to tell you if you know the exact model C2D CPU that that MacBook has, everymac should tell you if you don't know. Google the C2D model and find the intel result. They usually provide info like cores, features stuff like that. The even tell you how much mac RAM is allowed as well. So the information intel tell you is more Important because they know thier products inside out.
     
  10. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #10
    ???????

    Yes - Intel know more about how much ram a MacBook can support than anybody else !!! News to me - I think that the motherboard design might be a bit more important than the processor...

    If you look at the link to the Crucial ram in the first post then you will notice that the 3rd or 4th comment about the 2 x 4GB PC8500 kit is from the owner of a white 2010 Unibody MacBook saying how well it works......
     
  11. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #11
    Derpy derpy derp... Thankyou very much... I just posted that link very quickly without looking it over much. Thanks, i shall get that.
     

Share This Page