What RAM for MBP 2010-series

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by yoe91, May 22, 2014.

  1. yoe91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I live in Qatar and they don't have the type of RAM I need here, so I'll have to order online. I currently have 2GB+2GB=4GB and my computer lags when I use weighty software.

    But if I order online, there's no trial or resend possible, so I have to be absolutely, super duper 100% positive it'll work.
    These are my specs:

    Bought in mid-2010.
    Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, RAM-type: 8500S.
    Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3,
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB
    Serial Number WQ026D2WATM
    Software OS X 10.8.5 (12F45)

    I'd love 16GB, but it's too risky as I've read some work, some don't for my model. So I'll settle for 8GB.
    Please help, I'm no savant hardware wise so would appreciate a reliable opinion here.
    Thanks !!
     
  2. Flood123, May 22, 2014
    Last edited: May 22, 2014

    Flood123 macrumors 6502a

    Flood123

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Living Stateside
    #2

    Looks like DDR3 PC3-8500. If you go back to the home page there you can pick your system and check it out to be sure. I hope you find what you are looking for.
    source:
    http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/macbook-pro-(15-inch,-mid-2010)/CT3309361
    company home page:
    http://www.crucial.com

    EDIT:
    Before Purchasing i anywhere, I would contact the company you choose customer support to see if this is the correct memory for you.
     
  3. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #3
    The mid 2010 was my previous MBP. I could only get PC-8500 1067MHz DDR3 memory to work on it. I've heard others claim otherwise, but this has been my experience.
     
  4. Flood123, May 22, 2014
    Last edited: May 22, 2014

    Flood123 macrumors 6502a

    Flood123

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Living Stateside
    #4
    If you are looking for your system I would use the system scanner at Crucial (the company I linked above) and you should be solid. If you have questions i am sure their customer service would be more than happy to help.
     
  5. yoe91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

Share This Page