What RAM to buy to update new iMac launched today?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by spinstorm, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #626
    At least you threw in noticeable performance this time. No one that I am aware of in this thread is paying more for lower CL RAM either so far as I know. One of the reasons I bought the Ballistix is because it was the most inexpensive option for me at the time. I think you're trying to stir up some sort of controversy that doesn't exist.
     
  2. froth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    #627
    Does anybody knows what is the right order for RAM which come in dual rank? I know that Apple ram is installed in 1st and 3rd slot. That suggest that pairs are 1,3 and 2,4. However when we look in slots in macOS it looks like:
    SLOT 1 corresponds BANK 0/DIMM0
    SLOT 2 corresponds BANK 0/DIMM1
    SLOT 3 corresponds BANK 1/DIMM0
    SLOT 4 corresponds BANK 1/DIMM1

    so it means that memory which is in dual rank should be in same BANK ?
     
  3. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #628
    Matching RAM should be in DIMM0 and DIMM1 (alternating slots) for dual channel, exactly as Apple ships it. See this thread for more information.
     
  4. Dead_serious macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #629
    Does anyone know if dual or single ranked ram makes a difference with the iMac 21.5"?
     
  5. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #630
    Judging by earlier posts to this thread (see around page 10), it shouldn't make a difference as long as the RAM otherwise meets the specifications (260-pin PC4-19200). It seems that all modules of 16GB or larger are dual-ranked.
     
  6. 83metoo macrumors newbie

    83metoo

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    #631
    Hello from Germany,

    just ordered my iMac 27" with 8GB Ram - I want to change the Ram with 4 x 16GB Ram because I do some FCPX works for my youtube channel 83metoo.

    - HyperX Impact, I red it can make some issues in fact of automatic overclocking
    - Crucial says on there website the Ram is not compatible with the 2017 iMac

    What is your reference Ram for 2017 iMac?

    Thanks :)
     
  7. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #632
    If you're not planning on using Hyper-X in combination with Apple's RAM, users in this thread have reported it works fine. It does not mix well with non-Hyper-X.

    The Crucial Ballistix I've been using in my 2017 iMac with perfect performance for over 3 months now is noted to be incompatible with 2017 iMac in giant red letters on their website.

    As long as it meets the timing specs, the lack of "for 2017 iMac" label shouldn't make any difference at all.
     
  8. 83metoo macrumors newbie

    83metoo

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    #633
    Hi and thanks for fast reply.

    What I also found out is that Kingston also have another Ram that is official compatible, KCP424SD8/16

    https://www.kingston.com/de/memory/search?DeviceType=2&Mfr=APP&Line=iMac&Model=96522

    Are there any experiences with that one?
     
  9. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #634
  10. Clinbio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #635
    Can I add just one , e.g a Crucial CT16G4SFD824A model, to the new 2017 model 27inch iMac? So it goes from 8 to 24 Gb? If that's possible, what slot occupation would be the best ? Currently the two 4Gb are at slot 1 and 3. Have the single 16 Gb module at slot 1 and move one 4Gb to slot 2 (and leaving the other at slot 3?)?
    I don't want to fill up the last empty slot already but might do that some time in further future.
     
  11. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #636
    As mentioned, matching RAM should be in staggered slots, exactly as Apple ships it. I'd advise you to leave the Apple RAM as it is and install the 16GB DIMM into slot 2. It should run fine but you will always get better performance with dual channel.

    As long as there is a slot between the matching DIMMs you're doing it right.
     
  12. Zapp21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #637
    Thought I made a good deal on 16GB Crucial Kit to upgrade my 8GB RAM 5K iMac. As it turns out, I ordered a single module, no kit.

    Do you already have some experience with that 4-16-4 combo? I don't know whether I should keep mine. I could send it back and order two 8GB sticks instead. They are more expensive though.
     
  13. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #638
    I see no reason why it shouldn't work, albeit not in dual channel mode.
     
  14. LGIR627 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    #639
    So I've spent 3-4 hours reading this thread and researching and cannot seem to figure out what RAM to order. I have a base model 2017 27" on order. I am keeping the 8GB of Apple RAM and want to add a 16GB (8GB x 2) kit for a total of 24GB. I just want to be able to drop it in and everything works. It seems that every brand (Crucial, OWC, Corsair, etc.) has reviews/comments of people having issues.

    Can anyone who was in a similar situation let me know which brand RAM they purchased?

    It seems like when I upgraded the RAM of my 2015 iMac, it wasn't so complicated and didn't require as much thought.
     
  15. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #640
    Strange, I don't recall anyone posting about having issues with Crucial.

    So long as it is 260-pin PC4-19200 you should be fine, whether it is labeled as "for iMac" or not.
     
  16. Huginnmuninn macrumors regular

    Huginnmuninn

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #641
    They all (probably) work about as well - Crucial, Kingston, Ramjet, OWC, whomever - and they all have lifetime warranties if there's a problem.

    Some people have problems, some don't, some need to re-seat in different slots and restart, some don't.

    Crucial is owned by Micron Technology, a $20 Billion/year corporation which makes its RAM (and sells to manufacturers, to consumers, and to resellers), while companies like OWC buy theirs from manufacturers and resell it. For what it's worth, for my last RAM upgrade, for a Mac mini, I bought direct from Crucial and had no problems.
     
  17. colodane macrumors 6502a

    colodane

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #642
    I've purchased from Crucial for both my 2011 and 2017 iMacs. No issues either time.
     

Share This Page