What RAM to buy?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MatrixPrime, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. MatrixPrime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #1
    I have one of the new 20" iMacs, and only got the standard 1 GB of RAM. Well I purchased the following:
    [​IMG]

    tried it in my iMac, and the machines was stuck in a constant reboot loop. I would get the startup sound, the apple on the center of the screen and then an instant reboot. I removed this RAM, keeping only the stock RAM in there, and the machine booted fine. Removed the stock factory RAM, and just tried booting the machine with the extra RAM I bought, and nothing happened, the machine wouldn't do anything, except I could hear the optical drive spinning. I did push the RAM in as far as it would go, but I never did get the "snap" sound that the factory RAM would make when pushing it into place. I've since returned the RAM and got my money back, but I still want to upgrade it. I only need a 1 GB stick. What would people recommend? Where should I get it?
     
  2. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    I highly recommend www.datamem.com

    I have bought RAM from them numerous times and I have always been very pleased. Great prices too. :)
     
  4. oduinnin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #4
    Spec's?

    Your picture is too small for me to read. What were the spec's of that RAM?

    Besides the places mentioned, there is also OWC

    and TransIntl

    I've used RAM from both without any problem. :)
     
  5. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
  6. xodonniedarko macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    the picture says notebook memory.


    you have an imac?


    imacs are definitely not notebooks

    maybe that is your problem?
     
  7. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #7
    imacs use notebook memory. That is one reason why they are so thin...
     

Share This Page