What ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kill00, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. kill00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I have a 2010 mid 15" MBP with 4gb Ram. I took 1333 8gb of ram from my 13" early 2011 MBP and put it in my 15". The 15" would not boot up. I put the original 4gb ram in and it worked again. Whats up? I need 8gb ram in my 15".
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
  3. bobcan, Aug 18, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013

    bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #3
    Likely 1066 vs 1333 speeds..

    Yup.. as mentioned, the Crucial site works well I believe, and I have had NO issues ever with this site either, and it always has truthfully given me the MAX Ram numbers, even if APPLE has stated a smaller amount..

    I believe your 2010 15" MBP likely has 1066 MHz PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM and a if the 2011 13" MBP is 1333 MHz PC3-10600 DDR3 SDRAM as it appears, that will be the issue.. same amount of pins and may fit the socket, but computer will not recognize likely..

    You can find almost ANY Apple Product on this site, MBPs are listed here:
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/index-macbookpro.html
     
  4. surroundfan, Aug 18, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013

    surroundfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    The MBPs with NVidia chipsets (including the 13" mid-2010s, and mid-2009 models sold in 2010) are very finicky with RAM speeds. You will generally need to run 1067MHz DDR3 speeds, rather than faster speeds (some people have reported success using faster speeds, but as you've found, there's no guarantee it'll work).

    Later MBPs with Intel chipsets are not picky and will happily run faster speeds...
     

Share This Page