What requires JAVA ?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by droplink, Feb 12, 2015.

  1. droplink macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #1
    Hi
    Is it possible to uninstall Java on Yosemite ?
    Which applications use it ?

    I really dislike Java and its constant updater. :)
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Why did you install it? OS X ships without Java installed.
     
  3. droplink thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #3
    ?? I never installed it ?? :confused:
    Not that I can recall anyway..

    Or maybe I did... :rolleyes:
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    OS X has shipped without Java installed since 10.7 Lion. The only way you have Java installed on a recent version is if you installed it yourself.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    You can do two things to see if you have Java installed.

    To see if you have the Java runtime installed that is used to run local apps, run this command in Terminal. If you do not have Java installed you will see a message that says "No Java runtime present, requesting install." then a popup to install Java. Just click more info on that pop and exit the info web page it takes you to.

    Code:
    java --version
    Then to see if you have the Java web plugin installed just go to this site and if you do not have Java installed you will see a message in the middle that the Java plugin in missing.
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    or you can just look for the java preference pane in your system preferences... :D
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Yep... but if old versions of the plugin are on there the pref pane would not be there. I can't recall what version started using that pref pane.

    I was not clear from the question if this was a new/clean machine with Yosemite or not.
     
  8. dmrowley macrumors 6502

    dmrowley

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Dortches, NC
    #8
    Are you or any other user playing Minecraft on this Mac? If so, it requires Java to run...
     
  9. droplink thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #9
    Perfect! I removed it.
    I have now neither Java, nor Flash on my iMac. What bliss :cool:
     
  10. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #10
    Illustrator or InDesign (or both I think) CS6 needed Java in order to work. I do not know if they fixed that for CC.

    I know, that was a MAJOR disappointment. I do not want Java on my development Mac either. But I had to for some of the Adobe software :(
     
  11. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #11
    i don't think inD needs it, just illustrator and dreamweaver...
     
  12. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #12
    CC and up don't need java.
     
  13. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #13
    Oh sweet thanks!
     
  14. moonman239 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #14
    You can tell which apps use Java by searching your hard drive for .jar files;Java applications are usually contained in .jar files.
     

Share This Page