What Resolution do you run your Retina Pro on?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Cscottrun, Sep 10, 2014.

  1. Cscottrun macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #1
    So I just got a new 13 inch retina pro. The computer defaults itself to Best (Retina), - Im not even sure what resolution that is. I'm used to one step up, 1400x900, thats what I ran my air at. I'm thinking of going 1680x1050.
     
  2. hamiltonDSi macrumors 68000

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #2
    1280 x 800
     
  3. capathy21 macrumors 65816

    capathy21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #3
    I prefer everything larger so I run best for retina.
     
  4. Cscottrun thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #4
    Thanks
     
  5. RianT macrumors member

    RianT

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #5
    I run 1440x900. Best for Retina is too big, the other option is too small. 1440x900 is the sweet spot for me.
     
  6. konradsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #6
    Depend on what I am doing:

    - Surfing on couch: 1280 x 800 HiDPI
    - Working on couch (coding): 1440 x 900 HiDPI
    - Working at desk: 1680 x 1050 HiDPI
    - Really, really need a lot of screen real estate: 1920 x 1200 or 2048 x 1280
     
  7. RianT macrumors member

    RianT

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #7
    Which version do you have? How did you get to set those resolutions? Is there like a third party app for that?
     
  8. konradsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #8
  9. taelan28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
  10. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #10
    1680 x 1050 and never went back. Much more efficient use of space imo.
     
  11. TechZeke macrumors 68020

    TechZeke

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    #11
    1680x1050 on a 15". Switch it back 1440x900 when I'm not doing anything important and want to admire the crispness of the display.
     
  12. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #12
    Same here.
     
  13. RianT macrumors member

    RianT

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #13
    Have you noticed any hit on battery life or performance at all?
     
  14. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #14
    Definitely max resolution. I want to see as much info as possible.
     
  15. paolo- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #15
    On my 15" rMBP, I keep it at the smallest, 1920*1200 when using the computer as a laptop. I set it to best for retina display when I hook it up to my external display. It's quite neat as os x automatically changes the scaling when I plug and unplug the external display.

    I might look into the hacks to run the display at it's native res. I enjoy it sometimes in Windows when I need to look up a bunch of stuff at the same time.
     
  16. TechZeke macrumors 68020

    TechZeke

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    #16
    There is definitely a small performance hit. Still smooth, just not as smooth as best for retina with lag here and there.
     
  17. zjazz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    #17
    Best for Retina for every day use on my 15". All texts and webs look much better, crispier, and no white blank spaces on both sides. Much easier to read and see everything. I don't need "more space" for regular usage such as Safari, Word, iTunes, Maps, etc. ;)
    But when it comes to work on Logic thats a different story, then you really need more space, so then I scale to 1920X1200. It gives enough space for everything and I barely use my external 24" anymore!
     
  18. sdilley14 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #18
    I was wondering the same thing. I got a 13" rMBP last week and it seemed like everything on the display was bigger than usual (coming from a 13" MBA). I swtiched it to 1440x900...looks good to me!
     
  19. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
  20. acctman macrumors 65816

    acctman

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    Georgia
    #22
    native better battery life and looks a lot better.
     
  21. EOB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  22. Qaanol macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #24
    1920×1200 HiDPI on my 15.4″

    At first it seemed too small and I used 1680×1050 a lot, but lately I’ve found 1920 to be perfect. I sometimes use 2880×1800 when I want pixel-perfect accuracy and lots of space.

    I’m not sure if you’re referring to the built-in “more space” option, or simply commenting that you like to have more space.

    But for the sake of clarity to other reading this, I’ll mention that on the 15.4″ rMBP the “more space” setting yields a 1920×1200 HiDPI resolution. As others have said above, there is no built-in option for true native 2880×1800: you have to use a third-party program such as RDM, QuickRes, or SwitchResX.
     
  23. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #25
    Best for Retina for all my rMBPs, unless when I'm coding.

    When I'm coding, I bump it up to a stop higher (1440x900 scaled on my 13", and 1680x1050 scaled on my 15").
     

Share This Page