What settings do you guys use on handbrake?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jkramb, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. jkramb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    I'm using the Apple TV preset, which rips at a 2500 bit rate, but it creates a file size about 50% larger than what the file is on itunes, leading me to believe the files are larger than they need to be to have the same quality. Is this accurate? can i have a smaller file with the same quality?
     
  2. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #2
    I use a custom which is really the ipod hires with 1500 so I can what it on my AppleTV and also my iPhone (same file). The average is about 1.5GB. So a little larger then what you buy but smaller the the 2500 AppleTV you are using. Also, my guess is you are not on the latest release of Handbreak, because the new one defaults to a percent value instead of the 2500. I am on the new release but I still use my old settings.
     
  3. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #3
    As the previous poster said, you are probably using 0.9.2. Use 0.9.3, update the presets, and use the new ATV one. It defaults to 59% constant quality, and results in great looking encodes that are significantly smaller than the previous version. I use the ATV preset, but move the quality slider to 61% and turn the decomb filter on to catch any interlacing.
     
  4. bucksaddle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I wish those pesky kids at Apple would let us know which HandBrake settings they are using for all those iTunes encodes :D
     
  5. iNewbie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #5
    Any reason you're not using the Univeral setting? That gives you compatibility with iPhones and such right? Does it give up anything compared to the ATV preset?
     
  6. kjvi5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #6
    If any setting will work for Apple TV, then how come when I encode with anything other than that setting, or when I change anything about the file once it is in itunes (genre, title, etc.), does it show up as gray and unable to be synced to my atv's when they are showing in itunes?
     
  7. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    lol. ... and you really think apple is using sd dvd's for their source material ;)

    the hb 0.9.3 preset does indeed typically provide a higher visual quality at a lower file size than the old 0.9.2 abr preset.

    Also, realize that the canned preset for hb balances quality vs. encoding speed. Apple does not really care (trust me, they have fast computers to handle their iTunes encoding). So, yes you can *definitely* squeak better quality and lower file size out of your atv encodes with hb. There are several hb forum threads regarding just this fact.
     
  8. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #8
    The reason I use the ATV preset is because it produces slightly smaller file sizes than does Universal. At this point, my external drive is about maxed out, and I need to eek out every last bit I can.

    The other reason I don't bother with the Universal preset is because, while I do have an iPhone, my music takes up most of its memory and I don't have a whole lot left for video. Universal preset encodes take up too much space on the iPhone/iPod. When I want video on it, I do a separate iPhone encode. Syncing with two different versions of the same movie/TV show isn't an issue for me, because I sync my iPhone to my MBP, and my ATV to my iMac.
     
  9. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #9
    question: why would the universal setting produce a smaller file than atv? this seems counter-intuitive to me.
     
  10. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #10
    It doesn't. Universal generally produces larger files than the ATV preset.
     
  11. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #11
    universal will always produce a larger file given the same source. Probably the biggest reason is that the iPod's and iPhone cannot support bframes, the atv can.
     
  12. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #12
    These are the setting that I use. These will NOT work with an Apple TV but are awesome for a Mac Mini home theater system.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Interesting. Is this meant for DVD's or HD material? And why mkv instead of mp4, ie, are there any benefits from using an mkv that you cannot get from an mp4 container? Also, if you are using a mac mini, I assume it has enough juice to run any framerate, so why set a fixed 24 fps, which I've experienced sometimes cause the converted movie to stutter, and not just use "same as source"?
     
  14. sven- macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #14
    Thanks for sharing your settings.

    Does anyone know a good website where I can find more information about those reference frames, B-frames etc. ? I really wanna know more about them (and about x264 settings in general) so I can use the best settings in different situations.
     
  15. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #15
    I have a set routine:

    Rip a stack of DVDs to the desktop with MTR then each movie gets ripped twice once for my iPhone at these settings:

    H.264 700kbps
    480xwhatever resolution.
    Single pass
    128kbps audio

    And a second at the following settings for playback on my computer or AppleTV (though the file will still playback on my iPhone and looks better when plugged into a big TV I only have a CRT so the iPhone ones look just fine) and I can't really tell between it and the DVD:

    H.264 2000kbps
    Loose anamorphic with vertical resolution of 480 or less (whatever is possible)
    Two-pass with a turbo first pass.
    160kbps audio.

    The iPhone settings return a file around 700 to 850MB whilst the higher settings come back around 1.5 to 2GB.

    Meh, works for me.
     
  16. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #16
    It's meant for regular DVD material, but would also work with HD material as well. (probably just slide the CQ down to 59%). And I use the MKV container because is it is almost future-proof. MKVs are becoming more and more popular and supported everyday. And I fix the frame-rate at 24p because I'm using these with a 120Hz TV, which takes away the 3:2 pulldown-stutter seen by 60Hz TVs.

    I found Handbrakes Wiki a great help as well as their forum.
     
  17. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #17
    I also just realized (from the Handbrake forums), that in the latest SVN you can pass-through DTS if you use an MKV container! I'd call that a deal-breaker if your content include a DTS track. Very nice, developers! (re-checks the prize of a mini & the current value of the dollar to the euro... Two more months to that state-side late-summer trip! :p)
     
  18. jamesdmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Cittagazze
    #18
    This is my current process:
    1. rip a blu ray in Windows using AnyDVD HD.
    2. switch over to OS X, load the .m2ts that contains the movie into tsMuxer and remove unwanted soundtracks and subtitles
    3. load the tsMuxed .m2ts into Handbrake with a custom setting:
    - Format: MP4 file
    - Video codec: H.264
    - Framerate: same as source
    - Quality: Average bitrate=6,000
    Picture Settings
    - Anamorphic: none
    - Size: 1280 x whatever it takes to keep the aspect ratio ("keep aspect ratio" is checked)

    This produces a nearly-indistinguishable-from-1080p quality .m4v file at somwhere between 4 and 7 gigs. My Mac Mini is connected to my 32" TV and I watch my blu ray rips using Plex. If I had a larger display (I used to be heavily into front projection with a 10-foot wide 2.35:1 screen), I don't know if I would "downgrade" to 720p, but at 32 inches diagonal, image quality is outstanding.

    I have no interest in watching movies on my laptop or iPod, so this works for me.
     
  19. pmcmvp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #19
    chaseR,

    i used your settings but its taken more than 8 hours and still going. HOw long does it take for you to encode?
     
  20. dmw2692004 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
  21. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #21
    Change the Framerate (FPS) to: "Same as Source"

    This should reduce the encode time quite a bit.
     
  22. pmcmvp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #22
    How long does it take for one movie to encode for you? Im doing only 3 chapters and its taking about 2 hours or so. im using a newer white macbook.
     
  23. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #23
    Um, same as source vs. hard setting framerate to 24fps will have no appreciable difference in encoding speed. Further hardsetting 24 fps will not take into account variable framerates that exist in an overwhelming number of sources.
     
  24. pmcmvp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #24
    I tried the film preset and it looks pretty good (I guess). But it takes forever to encode. HOw long does it usually take for you? What settings in the preset Film setting that I can change that will speed it up but not compromise quality.

    Thanks
     
  25. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #25
    Does this mean that even with the FPS set a 24, it still won't be 24p?
     

Share This Page