What shall i get?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by willorrock, Sep 12, 2008.

1. willorrock macrumors member

Here is my situation,

I am a design student and heavily into anything involving mac/apple.
    I use my macbook pro (2.16 duo/1GB) a lot. typically i run photoshop cs3, dreamweaver cs3, iphoto (20,000 photos), flash, logic pro etc etc.

The MBP is struggling and i want to upgrade. Now, do i go down the Mac Pro route so i can upgrade various aspects in future years as and when or should i go for a new MBP? (perhaps wait until the rumoured updates in mid October? or wait further more until the convention in San Fran, January 09?)
    If i was to get a MacPro i would also buy a MB Air for portability etc (and i really want one of those lol!!)

Help me out with your advice and total costings for various set ups (in GBP please and also i can get student discounts)

Thanks

2. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

Hawkeye411

lol ... just go to the Apple website and you can select the computers you are interested in and it will allow you to customize the setup and it will provide you with a quote .... Or .. I suppose I could do this for you and report back to you .... nahhhhhh ..... you go ahead and give it a try ... it'll be good for you. ;) :D

3. willorrock thread starter macrumors member

it was an advice post not a how to,

but thanks for the concern anyway

alternatively i could get a top of range imac (4gb, 1TB etc), but in a couple of years time could i upgrade the processors within it like a macpro or increase the RAM (i understand there are probably only 2 slots on the 24" iMac so could be expensive to get above 4gb) but is it possible?

4. willorrock thread starter macrumors member

5. oddsocks macrumors newbie