What should I do with this new Verizon tiered data plan?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by buddygogo, Jul 6, 2011.

1. buddygogo macrumors newbie

As some of you may know Verizon is switching to a new tiered data plan that is crazy expensive. I currently have a cheap bottom of the line basic cell phone. I was planning on upgrading to the new iPhone 5/4s when it comes out in September but this new tiered data plan Verizon is pushing makes things a lot more complicated. I have to have unlimited data. I am a student/developer and I don't want to have to worry about how much data I can consume on my phone. My contract is already up so I can renew it whenever. Here are my options.

1. Buy a cheep phone with an unlimited data plan then buy the new iPhone in September at a significantly raised price.

2. Buy the iPhone 4 at a much cheaper price and keep it till my plan expires in 2 years and get the latest iPhone then.

3. Wait for the iPhone 5/4s in September and buy it at a cheaper price with a ridiculously expensive data plan.

In case anyone thinks I should just switch carriers, I have to stay with Verizon as my whole family is on Verizon. I also do not want to switch to an android phone.

2. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

ProwlingTiger

4. Buy an iPhone 4 now, then if you decide you want the iPhone 5, sell it and pay the difference.

3. barkingDog macrumors regular

barkingDog

Me thinks you have not much time left to secure unlimited data on VZ; it ends today? New plans start tomorrow.

If you want UL data, get yourself out to a VZW location or Apple Store. Sooner rather than later.

4. BHP41 macrumors 6502a

BHP41

Buy the 4, be happy, sell the 4, take a slight loss, buy the 5, be happy, repeat when the 6 comes about.

5. awadeee macrumors 68020

awadeee