what should i do with this?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by X1Lightning, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    I recently acquired a compaq proliant server for free, this thing is a tank, its got to weigh almost 200 pounds. it has 4 PIII Xeon's running at 750mhz, dual power supplies,but it does not have any hard drives in it,
    is it worth spending the money on hard drives for it?
    or should i use it for a boat anchor? :)
     
  2. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #2
    I think I have 3 or 4 18gb SCSI drives that would work in that beast... and the drive sleds.

    I'll look and see what type they are when I get home from work.
     
  3. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #3
    Depends, do you have some computers that need serving?
     
  4. maestro55 macrumors 68030

    maestro55

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Goat Farm in Meridian, TX
    #4
    Well considering you got the machine for free, if you need a server than spend the money if not I am sure someone else may be able to make use of the system perhaps consider a donation to one of the groups that provide computing services to the lower class.
     
  5. mcarnes macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #5
    No no no, no boat anchor. If you shoot it'll make a nice target.
     
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Pretty sure you can pick up 18GB SCSI drives fairly cheap on eBay. What model Proliant?
     
  7. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #7
    I'm not sure on the model, i'll look when i get home
     
  8. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #8
    hey let me know, it is missing one of the sleds
     
  9. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #9
    well currently i have a 1ghz amd athalon that does every thing i need server wise, but it might be fun to play with this monster
     
  10. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #10
    If you don't plan on needing a server I would donate it to a worthy cause.....or sell it on Craigslist or something. If you want a server for home, go get a smaller 1U or 2U system. That huge compaq you got is suure an energy guzzler... plus for a home setup you don't need anywhere near that much power :D
     
  11. r1ch4rd macrumors 6502a

    r1ch4rd

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #11
    You can always have fun playing with it and learning a few things. I am sure you can pick up some drives for cheap. If you find you don't need it after that there is always ebay or if you are a generous soul you could use something like Freecycle.
     
  12. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
  13. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #13
    Sweet. I'm pretty sure the sleds are the same then, they're from an old DL380 G2. You want one? I'll leave the HD that's in it. Send me a PM.
     
  14. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #14
    would this machine have enough power to do video? at least better than a 1.8 core duo?
     

Share This Page