What should I get and when? (UK)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Cherrysftw, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Cherrysftw, Dec 3, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013

Cherrysftw macrumors member

Hey I'm going to uni in sept 2014, and currently am laptop-less. I have had windows machines in the past, but never been impressed by their durability/speed etc.

I am set on getting an apple laptop, whether pro/air. My uses are very simple:

Browse internet
    Check emails
    Listen to music
    Watch videos on YouTube
    Play 2 games (very old games), RuneScape and counter strike 1.6 (released on Mac OS)
    Process basic documents on Microsoft word

Pretty much it, I'm studying maths at university so don't require a laptop for that purpose. Don't plan on doing any designing/editing/programming etc.

I figured the medium rMbp would be good (2,4ghz/8gb ram/256gb 13in).

Would this machine do all the tasks flawlessly? Where would it struggle? What can it not do at all? Is the 13 inches too small? Is there anything I should be aware of before buying my MacBook? What are the negatives of having a mac laptop?

Should I buy my laptop now as I don't really need it now, (could use a cheap NetBook for 6 months). Is the back to school sale worth waiting for, would a newer model come out by then? I also qualify for the 15% discount for students.

I receive grants when I hit uni, so can upgrade to newer models then but if it is blatantly obvious to not buy one now then I will refrain from doing so. Also what do they offer with the back to school offer?

This is the first apple computer I am buying.

Thanks

2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

Macbook Air's are excellent machines. Get one next August to make sure you get the latest and greatest.

3. Tfb macrumors member

You definitely don't need the power of the MBP over the MBA, and MBAs are a dream for portability and battery life.

Is the retina screen what is drawing you?