What should I get dilemma. :(

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by VietlOtUs, Aug 21, 2008.

1. VietlOtUs macrumors member

Initially, I wanted a Mac Pro then I downgrade to a MacBook... and now I am thinking of an iMac. :p

I am not willing to spent more than 1700.

Considering my situation/preferences/usage, what should I get? Help!

1. Web browsing
    2. Music
    3. Movies
    4. Words(whatever else relates to school; no heavy graphics necessary; I am a biologist)
    5. Photography (photo editing)
    6. Refurbished or New ?

Do I take my laptop everywhere I go? Probably not. When I was living on campus I do take my Sony laptop with me to the library a lot. It's basically for writing papers. That's about the only time I take my laptop out of my room.

Few questions about the iMac, I am thinking of the 24" with 2gb memory.

Q1: Can I upgrade (install) more memory later on my own?

Q2: What is the estimated life span of an iMac, considering I will be using it very conservatively meaning I will use it with cautious?

Q3: My work place is having an Apple closeout, so the 24" is being discounted to 1300 (however no free ipod touch nor printer). What should I go for? Through Apple store or through my work place?

2. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

You can always upgrade the RAM. An iMac would last between 4 and 7 years. It doesn't matter where you get it, as you get the same warranty.

TEG

3. bigjnyc macrumors 601

bigjnyc

get the 2.8ghz iMac it will fit your needs and then some. its the cheapest 24" you can get. Unless you find a refurb.

4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

Neil321

1 yes up to 4gb's
    2 3 to possibly 5 yrs
    3 if it were me i'd go for the work option

5. gehrbox macrumors 65816

gehrbox

Q1 = Yes
    Q2 = I have two Mac SE/30's from 1989, an iMac from 1999 and an iMac from 2003. All working fine.
    Q3 = Get the best price.

6. nick9191 macrumors 68040

Where did you dig that crap up from?