What should I turn off in 'System Services'?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by louis0nfire, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. louis0nfire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
  2. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #2
    To calibrate your compass.

    Sorry...had to. It just means the compass will be more accurate. Turn it off if you don't use the compass as much.
     
  3. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Local based iAds. They been a potential source of excess battery loss.
    Setting Timezone. ditto above.
     
  4. Lukeyy19 macrumors 6502a

    Lukeyy19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    England, UK
    #4
    in the Maps app tap the Location button with the little arrow on it twice, and with the compass your map will turn to face where you are facing.

    if you turn compass calibration off, it won't do this, and that setting it will only be used when you have to calibrate the compass, so if you don't calibrate the compass, it will never do anything anyway, so what's the point in turning it off, just means if you do need to use the compass, you'll have to turn it back on again.
     
  5. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #5
    Okay, what about diagnostics and usage? That won't affect anything if I turn it off right?
     
  6. Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #6
    The only thing I keep On is the Cell Network Search
    so when I take a Photo they are organized by Places in Photos app
     
  7. Stella, Oct 31, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011

    Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Those are useful to have logged and monitor: battery usage and Diagnostics if something goes wrong with your phone.

    Do turn off automatic sending of Diagnostic and Usage data - that will help stop needless battery drain, Settings -> General -> About > Diagnostic & Usage. Over on apple discussions, people have found this quite a battery drain ( the Apple server being overwelmed and the iPhone keeps trying and trying to send its data... )
     
  8. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    I believe Traffic, Diagnostics & Usage, and Cell Network Search are for crowd-sourced data. They do not effect how your iPhone works, but just provides Apple with a bunch of data about how the iPhone is used, exactly where it is used, and when it is used.

    I am unsure exactly what Compass Calibration does. I woke up today with an arrow on my iPhone. I looked in System Services and my Compass Calibration was being used. Why exactly was this being used right when I woke up? I wasn't using my compass or any app that uses the compass (unless my alarm clock does). Needless to say, I shut it off. And my compass feature within the Maps app still works.

    iAds and Time Zone are self-explanatory.

    Since Apple gives us the option to turn these features on/off, I wish they were more transparent in what exactly these options do.

    What exactly leads you to believe that having Location Services marked "on" for your Camera app doesn't already accomplish this function?
     
  9. Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #9
    Camera uses 3 things to determine where you are...
    - 3G connection
    - WiFi connection
    - Cell network antenas

    even tho my device is a 3G iPad, I never use it (3G slot has always been empty)... when I'm on the street and I'm not under a WiFi connection, the only thing I can use to make the camera locate me are the Cell Network Antenas
     
  10. yeah macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #10
    I'm going to answer your "compass" question. That feature is for an accurate compass using your 3G/WiFi network. It does need some juice because it's always calibrating (resetting) your compass to comply with true north or magnetic north.
     
  11. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #11
    not sure

    I dont think this is the setting which enables that. I have this setting off, and many others and yet the images from the camera show up fine in camera roll and in iphoto in places
     

Share This Page