What should ram usage be at?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adamvk, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. adamvk macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    I'm just wondering if I should buy more ram with my current situation? or if its fine.

    I have World of Warcraft, iTunes, and Archicad open.

    I have: 239mb wired, 1079mb active, 509mb inactive, and only like 20mb free. Is the 509mb also free ram thats not being used, or is it kinda being used?...I just dont know, which is why I'm posting this :)

    And yes it is normal for me to have several applications running at once, I'm a multitasker :)
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    The 509MB is not being used, but it is still available for whatever used it before - just in case it's needed again.
     
  3. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #3
    Check the ratio of Page outs to Page ins. If Page outs is high (close to or more than Page ins), you could do with more RAM.
     
  4. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Ok its the opposite, the page ins is high, so I think I'm fine :)
     
  5. Atomicfission92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #5
    How do you check that?
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  7. Atomicfission92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #7
    Would you look at that. Trying to get the hang of the Mac OS X was using Windows for too long.
     
  8. Atomicfission92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #9
    Sorta going along with this thread. How much Virtual Memory should you really be using? It seems like all my programs are taking about a gig or more of VM. And it says that my VM size is 35.18 GBs. Is that to much?
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Mac OS X manages your memory automatically. The only thing to keep an eye on is if the combination of Free and Inactive is very low, then you might need more memory.
     
  10. keekl macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #11
    Yeah, I'm at 36GB, but my in/out ratio is ok? in = 295MB vs out = 328KB
     
  11. Atomicfission92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #12
    So your basically saying that I shouldn't really even need to worry about filling up my ram because the system will just fix it as needed. I like that. :)

    I have 4 GB in my MBP so I should be pretty good
     

Share This Page