What size system for CS4/Aperture?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thereur, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. thereur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #1
    I'm guessing that a single processor 2.8 mac pro would handle CS4 and Aperture just fine. Would there be $500 worth of benefit going to a dual 2.8? I'd just be using the system for digital photography. Would be handle JPEGs and RAW over 20Mb in size.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    If you can wait two or three months, Nehalem is coming out. The benefits are... decently huge.
     
  3. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
    #3
    What TS said. And if you don't get an i7 system, it will be a great time to pick up a previous generation Mac Pro system in the refurb store at a great price. Get at least 8GB of ram whatever you do. Good luck. :apple:
     
  4. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Future versions may make better use of more cores, but there is no guarantee and depending how you work you may not need more than 4 for the life of your machine anyway. You might want to consider a refurb too as such a system can be bought for $2,000. Add 8 GB of memory and a faster hard drive and you have a solid system for the next several years.
     
  5. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    For reference, I'm running Aperture 2.0 and CS4 on a 8x2.8 Mac Pro and it's plenty fast, so you could easily get away with a single CPU 2.8. So, when the new Mac Pros hit, you can get the bottom end one and be fine.
     

Share This Page