Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mfouks

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 10, 2012
Hi-just wonderng which MBP I should go for- i.e top of the line or something less? I will be using it mainly for lightroom and photoshop. The files that I process are huge ( i.e. Nikon D800). It will be used for travel purposes which is a fair amount. I think I am better off with the more powerful 15inch but maybe the 13inch would be good enough? I would like to keep the machine for 2 1/5 to 3 years.

Thank you for any help you can offer- I am not very technical when it comes to specs.

Marsha

spork183

macrumors 6502a
Jul 30, 2006
Hi-just wonderng which MBP I should go for- i.e top of the line or something less? I will be using it mainly for lightroom and photoshop. The files that I process are huge ( i.e. Nikon D800). It will be used for travel purposes which is a fair amount. I think I am better off with the more powerful 15inch but maybe the 13inch would be good enough? I would like to keep the machine for 2 1/5 to 3 years.

Thank you for any help you can offer- I am not very technical when it comes to specs.

Marsha

Really? 2 1/5? Are you sure you didn't mean 2 1/7 or 2.38? :D

Seriously, it comes down to money. If you can afford the 15 and you'll be happy with the size traveling, go with it. Either way, with what you are describing, I'd go with a ram upgrade. :)

Freyqq

macrumors 601
Dec 13, 2004
The ram upgrade for sure to 16GB. For heavy photowork, the more ram the better. The bigger SSD could also be useful depending on how many photos you need on your drive at one time. However, I'd suggest getting an external USB 3.0 hard drive for the overflow instead because it is a lot cheaper; just keep current projects on the SSD.

mfouks

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 10, 2012