What SSD size do I need?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cmcbhi, Mar 10, 2018.

  1. cmcbhi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #1
    I currently have a late 2013 27” iMac w/ a 3Tb fusion HD.
    I’m considering a 2017 27” w/ a 2 TD SSD, but I have about 1TB on my current machine.
    I work with 65MB Nikon NEF files and have a large and growing photo library.
    I was told early on that one should never exceed 50% of disk capacity when working with spinning HD due to speed, effificiency and fragmentation.
    Does the same rule hold true for SSDs?
    If I get the 2TB SSD, would I need to plan to off load my photo and possibly iTumes libraries to an external disk? I do not want to compress the images due to loss of data.
     
  2. fathergll macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #2
    No you're fine with keeping everything on the 2TB SSD.
     
  3. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #3
    The speed of SSDs is optimal if they do have a bit of breathing room, but it doesn't need to be more than 15% or so. And Apple's SSDs are already overprovisioned out the factory. Furthermore, the SSDs are so insanely fast that even if you reduce their speeds to half, they'll still be about 10x faster than a 7200RPM spinning disk at peak speeds
     
  4. AlaskaMoose, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018

    AlaskaMoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #4
    You are correct. I would leave around 15-25% of room.

    However, I would not leave not even 1TB of files or data on the internal drive. Instead, I would replace the internal drive with a 1TB SSD, and move/save the photos to enclosure-less external hard drives. These hard drives are quite cheap, and with a USB dock with a SATA port connected to the computer, you just plug the hard drive or SSD drive into to the dock, save the files, and then put the drive away.

    Something like this one:
    https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-Exte...rd_wg=IUkjI&psc=1&refRID=KA6T2P28CFTZYV3FC5KW
     
  5. Glmnet1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    #5
    Why? If OP purchases a 2TB internal SSD, there's no reason he shouldn't use it to store his files. Of course if someone runs out of space internally (or decides to purchase a smaller one to save money), external drives are a great way to add additional storage. But in this case OP would have more than enough space on a 2TB and should only need external drives for backups or portability.
     
  6. Macshroomer, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018

    Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #6
    I am assuming that since you have always had these on your startup / boot drive that this is a hobby for you, not a slam per se, lots of people do. But even with that, you need to get into a different workflow if you really value your images.

    Depending on your budget, I would get a couple of 4-8TB externals and then just have a work folder on the iMac for speed. The reason for two externals instead of one or even a RAID-1 setup is having two entirely independent drives to store and then backup images on. I think that should be the bare minimum that you work with digital images in going forward.

    I have about 6TB of RAW archives alone and they live in 5 different places. They reside in a primary 40TB RAID 5 array and then that array is backed up to an identical but separate 40TB RAID 5 array. I also store two sets of the above on large single HD's, one for emergencies on site, and one along with other disks 20 miles away at a friend's house off site. This same workflow strategy is applied to boot drives and all client work. And finally, as I ingest images, they are also dumped unculled onto bare drives I have lying around until they fill up one after the other, those are stored with dates on them in a water tight case in the basement.

    So if you can not tell already, I am *very* careful with backup and it is diversified instead of on one or two large RAID volumes. You don't need to go full on like I have above, just get a pair of externals and start developing good storage and backup habits.

    --- Post Merged, Mar 10, 2018 ---
    Why? Because it's obvious they will continue to steadily use up space on the boot drive and it is best to get out of that habit now while the library is still manageable. I have work folders on both my laptop and desktop but I stopped archiving photos on the primary drive many years ago in order to develop a far more accountable and safe workflow.
     
  7. cmcbhi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #7
    I continually work with old images as I learn more about Photoshop. That’s why I work with NEF/RAW and sidecar files. I don’t damage the original images. But that. Means I want all images available. I don’t do videos so they don’t eat up space.
    Thanks all, keep opining please.
     
  8. AlaskaMoose, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018

    AlaskaMoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #8
    Like the OP, I work with very large photo images, and the reason why I don't save all my images on the internal SSD for a long time is because there is a greater risk of failure on the internal hard drive or SSD than an external drive that is occasionally powered and used to save the images. Also, because a 1TB SSD costs around $249.00, while a 2TB SSD costs around $500.00. You can buy an external 3TB SATA drive for around $100.00. Now, keep in mind that it's a suggestion of mine.
     
  9. Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #9
    How much do all your raw files weigh then and at what rate do you add on? I have shot professionally full time for 30 years, 24 with digital cameras alone...they add up fast for me.
     
  10. cmcbhi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #10
    Thanks, macschroomer, for your sage advice.
    Currently, I backup everything to Time Machine in a Thunderbolt 2 RAID 1 ARRAY, continual backup to Carbonite in the cloud, a bootable disk backup via Carbon Copy Cloner, on a RAID 1 ARRAY.
    It is a hobby, but one that goes back to my high school days where I lusted after an Exacta SLR.
    45 some odd years later, I’m lusting after a D850.
    But first a machine update!
     
  11. Macshroomer, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018

    Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #11
    That gives me a better idea of where you are at. Time Machine is good, CCC is also good but maybe get going on an entirely separate drive for images for the reason that Alaskamoose gave above, corrupt primary drive, etc.

    The D850 is great, I have a couple along with a D750, Leica M10 and even a 50MP Hasselblad digital back for my huge film based V system which I still use a ton for darkroom based fine art.

    Either way, your library will surely grow so in addition to what you already have, consider going to a RAID 5 array for images alone and that will give you some breathing room and fast access.
     
  12. cmcbhi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #12
    Currently, I’m shooting the D800. It replaced a D2H that I still have. I use a Leica V-Lux that I keep in the car for spur of the moment. I’m considering the D850, and sorta looking at the D5, but I don’t think it’s what I really want. I’ll admit i pixel-peep and I like to digitally enlarge on occasion.
    Bottom line I end up with significantly large files. I know I’ll have to offload in the future.
    I should have mentioned, II organize with Lightroom Classic and have everything I offload from the campers cards also sent to an external drive as more backup.
    I started computers with the IBM PC with an 8088 processor and TWO 5.25’’ floppys. Built a few machines in the interim. The iMac is my first Apple computer and I REALLY like it. Wonder why it took me so long.
    Do you like the Promise RAID 5 arrays.
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    If you've got money to toss away to pay Apple's exorbitant price for a 2tb SSD, then go for it.
    I could easily afford one (or several) -- but I don't see that as a useful expenditure.

    Even 1tb is priced out of line...
     
  14. cmcbhi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #14
    Well, I want the SSD speed, I want a new iMac. I want the warranty.
    Suggestions?
     
  15. Macshroomer, Mar 11, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018

    Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #15
    Yeah, stick with the excellent 2TB SSD internal that Apple offers, it is money well spent in my opinion and since you can not upgrade it, why hobble your self out of the gate?

    By the way, to answer your question from last night, I am using OWC ThunderBay 4 arrays, a total of 4 of them. They are an economical compromise for now at 1,500 max transfer until better TB3 hardware hits the scene and since 4 spinners can hardly saturate the chipset, they seem to be fine for the most part at 600mbs in RAID 5.
     
  16. cmcbhi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #16
    Thanks,
    I’ve looked at OWC. Even considered upgrading my current iMac with one of their 2TB SSDs but I also want the 5K Retina display.
     

Share This Page

15 March 10, 2018