what STAR WARS games (old and new) are compatible with Leopard 10.5??

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AeroBar, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. AeroBar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm preparing to replace my PC STAR WARS games with their MAC equivalents - where possible.

    Any fellow Jedi here who can confirm for me what STAR WARS games will/will not work on an Intel Mac running Leopard 10.5 ??

    I need info on any STAR WARS game that was released for MAC, not just recently, but the likes of DARK FORCES and EPISODE I RACER. What older ones work on 10.5, if any??

    Cheers.
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    The ones that I played under 10.5:

    KOTOR 1
    Jedi Academy
    Jedi Outcast
     
  3. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #3

    eXan, thanks for that. I appreciate it.;)
     
  4. NZEric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #4
    I'm not sure about 10.5, but Empire at War and Battlefront 1 play well on 10.4 so they should be fine on Leopard
     
  5. BertyBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #5
    Confirmed, SW Battlefront plays excellently on 10.5.

    Episode 1 Pod Racer will require some sort of emulator, SheepShaver. It plays on a low 233MHz G3, so it should be OK on a fast Intel.

    Of course you're going to have to buy (and find) Mac versions of these games.
     
  6. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #6
    thank you. is that on an Intel Mac?
     
  7. NZEric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #7
    Oh and I forgot to mention the force unleashed, but that will require something a bit grunty than SW Battlefront
     
  8. BertyBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #8
    8-core 2008 Mac Pro.
     
  9. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #9
    I know it's LEGO but LEGO Star Wars II is fully supported and Intel/PPC native on all OS's from 10.4 through to 10.6. That's the only Star Wars game we have published.

    Edwin

    Feral
     
  10. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #10
    LEGO is awesome. :D

    I actually have that one.

    cheers
     
  11. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #11
    does anybody know if that's the same?:confused:
     
  12. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #12
    eagerly awaiting UNLEASHED.

    what do you mean "require something a bit grunty":confused:
     
  13. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Yes that's an Intel Mac.
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    System requirements for TFU are insane. You need a very fast Mac to be able to run it well.
     
  15. Buzz Bumble Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    I've bought all(?) the Star Wars games made for the Mac (and most of the ones that were Windows-only) :) ... but I haven't played most of them and I've only got a beige G3 PowerMac running Mac OS 9.2. :( The only one I've completed is Pit Droids. :)

    You could of course keep the Windows versions and play them using Boot Camp.
     
  16. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #16
    Pit Droids was awesome! Any way to make it work in 10.6?

    If not, does it work in Win XP? thx
     
  17. Buzz Bumble Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    The box says:
    Minimum 200MHz PowerPC 603e, 132MHz PowerPC 604, or any G3 processor
    Mac OS version 7.6 or higher

    100% Windows 95 or 98 compatible computer
    Pentium class 166MHz or faster computer​

    Since Mac OS X 10.6 is (as far as I understand) Intel only and this game is PowerPC only and "Classic" only, you aren't going to be able to run this game in 10.6 unless you use the SheepShaver emulator.

    It might run under Windows XP if you tweak the compatibility settings.

    But as above, I only have a Mac OS 9.2 beige G3 PowerMac (also Virtual PC running Windows 95), so I can't test either of these options.


    The only other Star Wars game I got close to completing was another one from LucasLearning: DroidWorks, but I got stuck on a level that required a lot of battery power to light up a mostly dark level, and my droid wasn't powerful / quick enough to get through before being plunged into total darkness. :(

    I have briefly played a couple of others, but not enough to finish them - the 3D first person games give me a bad headache after only a 10-15 minutes playing them. :( I did almost finish the demo of Dark Forces, or maybe it was Jedi Knight, but it ran too slowly (and I was too hopeless) to finish the final lightsabre battle.
     
  18. Fiveos22 macrumors 65816

    Fiveos22

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #18
    The original Dark Forces did not have light sabres... and if there is some port of that game for OSX, I would pay handsomely for it, excellent plot and ok graphics (for the time).
     
  19. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #19
    You can play some of it via a mod for Jedi Academy:

    http://darkforces.jediknight.net/
     
  20. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #20
    Great games, Outcast was one of my favorites growing up. :)
    SW EaW, Galactic Battlegrounds, and those are the only ones ive played on a mac, and the above ones.
     
  21. Fiveos22 macrumors 65816

    Fiveos22

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #21
  22. MacBassPlayer macrumors newbie

    MacBassPlayer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Sidney, IN
    #22
    I would definitely recommend getting Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast. I first played it when it came out in 2002 on my old eMac, and I still enjoy it today. It is full of action, and you can get around not having a lightsaber or all the force powers at the beginning by using a couple cheat codes. I must say though that the AI are ridiculously stupid.
     

Share This Page