What (stress) testing should I run on my nMP when it arrives?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cubemmal, Jan 2, 2014.

1. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

Please provide links to any good stress tests I should run on my nMP when it arrives. I'd like to run some for a day or two continuously to verify that the computer can handle this, and doesn't, for example, develop the high pitched sound out of the speaker that Anand saw.

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

How about just run the standard apps you use under the typical load and see what happens.

3. Cubemmal thread starter macrumors 6502a

I'm a software engineer, I don't run any apps that will stress the computer overnight.

4. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

adam9c1

The only one I know is Geekbench stress test (paid version).

5. Cubemmal thread starter macrumors 6502a

The price is OK, but looking at the benchmarks it doesn't seem like it stresses the GPU's. These appear to be all CPU benchmarks.

6. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

SPECwpc is designed to benchmark workstations. None of this Geekbench stuff.

7. wheelhot macrumors 68020

I don't know why but no one seems to reply when I ask them to run SPECviewperf® 12 or SPECviewperf® 11 test on their new Mac Pro.

Download links
    SPECviewperf® 12
    SPECviewperf® 11

From what I read, apparently no.12 is updated to benchmark AMD FirePros better then no.11, but no.12 is new, so in terms of database, there's more data on no.11 but I guess it wont be a fair comparison as it's not optimized for AMD FirePros??

For those wondering what is SPECviewperf and why I kept asking it to be tested on the nMP.

8. riggles macrumors 6502

So, you want to stress test your nMP for two days in preparation to use apps that won't even put it under load overnight? Umm, ok, hahaha. I know my post is not at all helpful and I'm not implying anything negative, really. I just honestly got a good chuckle out of this.