What the F is wrong with my FUNCTION KEYS?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PhillyXJ, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. PhillyXJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    All of the sudden, my function keys do not work... for some reason, the only one that works is F12, which instead of turning UP my volume, brings dashboard up... HELP!!!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You've applied some sort of update that isn't for your computer. My MacBook Pro has the Dashboard on F4, while older laptops had volume there.
     
  3. PhillyXJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #3
    Hmm, I haven't installed anything - I was just using it as normal doing some homework and now this happened...
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Check System Preferences->Keyboard and Mouse->Keyboard

    Look for the check box that starts "Use F1-F12 for...."

    toggle that and see what happens.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Toggle

    System Preferences - Keyboard and Mouse - Keyboard - Use all F1, F1, etc. keys as standard function keys
     
  6. PhillyXJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #6
    I see what happened, thank you! That solved the problem... I think I might have accidentally toggled that! Whew!!! Thanks!! Case closed!
     

Share This Page