What the heck is going on

Discussion in 'iMac' started by icesac26, May 21, 2007.

  1. icesac26 macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #1
    I am haveing trouble doing basic chat windows, like entering them, and Java window info not showing up, anyone else haveing/Had this problem and or know wjat to do to fix this, and my CD/DVD/ CD RW drive in my emac is having problems, any help there would ne great too.:)

    Thanks
     
  2. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Which chat programs? Have you tried restarting your computer? You might have to do a reinstall of OS X if all else fails.

    Also what kind of problems are you having with your DVD drive? Optical drives are one of the more susceptible parts of a computer to fail due to having moving parts.
     
  3. Cormier6083 macrumors regular

    Cormier6083

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    Are you talking about iChat or Java chat applications?

    Try reinstalling Java.... see where that takes you.

    If it's iChat... then sorry... I'm just a PC user.
     
  4. icesac26 thread starter macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    so I have just reinstalled OS and then this is still happening, and have all the updates, havent upgraded to my tiger yet, just waiting to get my disk on my Tower out of the slot, that is haveing problems too. plus iTunes is showing up all chopy on my shows, any ideas???. I think it my want tiger to run smothly but not sure.

    In regardes to the Combo Drive, it has trouble reading a lot of cd/dvd's. and it has been this way since 6 months after I got the eMac, and I got it in May 2004. Recently it is getting worse though, like I can't reinstall my MS Office. Don't get me wrong I wish i Didn't need it but the world uses it and so I have to.
     
  5. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Most CDs or all? Do they have scratches? If the combo drive was bad why didn't you have it replaced when it started? What do you mean you can't install office? The folder doesn't show up? For office you just drag it to the apps folder.
     
  6. icesac26 thread starter macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #6
    for CD's most, none scrached, and this is office o4, it isnt drag and drop, same thing happens when I try and install Warcraft, it just says it cant because an error occors
     

Share This Page